Transforming Into A Runner

I would happily settle for jogger. This week will mark the fourth time in a decade that I try to start running for exercise. The last three times have obviously ended in failure. They are all about the same, so I’ll just recount the last one.

About 2&1/2 years ago, I decided (as I do about every 2&1/2 years) that I was made to run. I have been blessed (ha!) with rather large thighs and a backside that’s nothing to sneeze at. All of this made even more splendiferous by my refusal to change my eating habits once I hit 30 and my love of sugar. My thought always is, if always is every 30 months or so, that God must have given me these assets to be a runner. So I start running. I end up with terrible shin splints inside of two weeks. Massive pain for another two to three weeks while they heal. And another failure is on the books.

This last time I was determined would be different. I dragged myself to the the local running specialty store, had my stride analyzed and was fitted for some running shoes. They are great shoes. I still have them. They had no effect whatsoever on the dreaded shin splints.

So, here we are again. This time, I am convinced will be different (AGAIN!). This time, I have these (Found and bought for me by my sister-in-law. Thanks, Kristin!):

This time, I have read this book. This time, I have a blog and lots more people will know if I fail.

I know what you are thinking. Who cares about the rest of this mumbo jumbo? What the heck are those weird shoes? Those shoes are the Vibram Five Fingers. You can find out more about them here. I found out about them when I read the book mentioned above. Wearing them is supposed to be like running barefoot, only not. Running barefoot is supposed to help you feel how to correctly place your feet and thereby avoid many of the common running injuries. Pray for me! I’m sure I’m going to need it. And you should probably pray for my neighbors as well, since they will have to watch as me and my bizarrely shod feet struggle around the neighborhood.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lou on April 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Can’t wait to hear about the results. I have found if I run 1-2 min, walk 1-2 min. through the whole work out, I do not have shin or knee issues. I have also found that is has not helped in the least with weight loss. Best of luck!!! Hopefully you will see more results than I have. I think it is time to just embrace the new me:))

    Reply

  2. I can’t believe you have those shoes – I can’t wait to hear about what they’re really like!

    Reply

  3. I was supposed to do a 60 day fitness challenge which I immediately lost interest in when my step counter after 1/2 an hour only counted about 1900 steps and I was supposed to do 10,000 a day? Are you kidding? That was then over! Good luck with the jogging, I wish I was a better runner!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jen D on April 17, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    They have a ‘barefooting’ display at a local fitness store, and I immediately thought of you! Are they really comfortable? Even on they look like the socks with toe holes that end up being really uncomfortable after a short time wearing them!

    Reply

    • They really are comfortable. The one blister I got so far is on a toe that I regularly have trouble with whenever I get any kind of new shoes. I only have 2 runs under my belt so far. I won’t be a true believer until I get past the 2 week mark with my shins in tact. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

