An Ode To All Things Turquoise, Aqua, And Well… Blue

One of my blue rooms.


I think I’m in my “Blue Period”. No, I’m not depressed (although I could be depending on the results of Mr. Bingley’s blood work). I have six blue rooms in my house. And I picked the color for five of those rooms. I had no blue rooms at my old house. What caused this? I was not reading blogs at the time of this decision. The only shelter magazine I was receiving was Cottage Living (still sad and bitter about that). Isn’t it strange that I bought a new house towards the end of the brown trend and the beginning of the gray and white trend, and without knowing about any of this trend stuff, I chose blue for many rooms and the neutral I chose has gray undertones, not brown. It’s weird how we all absorb information without knowing it.

Hmmm... A mermaid in front of the crucifixion of St. Peter?


Did you know that at the beginning of this year, Pantone announced that turquoise is the “color of the year”? Apparently, a lot of design bloggers were like, “Duh!”. I wasn’t. But I’m not a design blogger. Then I started to look around my house. I was shocked by all the things I now own in the realm of turquoise and aqua. And I’m not even talking about my closet.

Brown Sugar & Cream Chees Fruit Dip


It has even migrated to my dish problem. If you want the recipe,click here. It’s not really my recipe. My friend Lou’s mom gave it to me years ago. I got that dish from an Etsy seller. I would pass on the information here, but I can’t find it. Sorry! It’s really cool. It has a lettuce pattern all over it.

One side of my family room.

The table pictured above is three Ikea ottomans stacked, with a tray from Wisteria on top. Here is a closer look at the table:

Make-shift tray table.

I’m linking this post up to Turquoise Tuesday over at The Single Nester. Head on over there and check out all of the links.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Oh what a great vase! That color is stunning.

    Reply

  2. From one blue person to another, you cannot get too much blue (at least not in my house). Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad to find your blog. — Jane F.

    Reply

  3. Cool vase! Love the detail. (I got a a great deal on a big vase at the thrift store; first time I used it at home I discovered it was not water tight. Bummer! Now I use an empty jar inside to hold the water/flowers.)

    Reply

  4. I love how that color blue looks on your walls – and this way, it stands apart from everyone else’s rooms that are all done in the color of the moment!

    Reply

  5. Blue, Hmm seems one little girl I know had a baby blue and white bedroom for many years. Would that have anything with your propensity for blue/aqua/turquoise??.

    Reply

  6. I too have a lot of blue in my current house (and very little in our previous home) though I made a conscious decision to go toward more blue this time as my favorite room in our old house was our master bedroom, which was the blue room. That and Dave loves blue.

    Perhaps we all just absorb trends by osmosis?

    Reply

  7. I think I should hire you to decorate my house. Well, maybe once we leave Korea. :) I LOVE the makeshift tray table. So clever!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Erika on April 23, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I love the blue in your house! I have been drawn to blue lately, and you know that would be a big change in my house! :) I think I want to use it in our bedroom (calming and restful!) but that would require a major change in bedding, window treatment, etc. We’ll see! Not sure P will go for that.
    Also, just wanted to say that I remember that fruit dip!! That stuff is awesome!! Go make some, people!

    Reply

    • Thanks E! Just tell him you’ll get white bedding, so you won’t have to change it again. When he objects, tell him about bleach!

      Reply

    • Oh crap! Why the hell did I just bring up bleach with you?! Here we go with the Clorox Cleanup story again. :)

      Reply

      • Posted by Erika on April 25, 2010 at 10:32 pm

        HaHa!! I have long since gotten over The Clorox Clean-Up Incident of 1994. Now it just makes me laugh! I would love some new white bedding; I was drooling over some at PB the other day. However, there is not enough bleach in the world to keep white bedding clean in my house–not when I still like snacks in my bed while watching TV. And Diet Mountain Dew. Some things never change!

      • 1994?!!! We’re so freakin old!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

