Happy New Year, Wooden Spoons, And A Few Ideas for New

I know the title of this post could be better. I had “A Few Ideas For Renewal”, but it sounded so cheesy that I almost threw up on my keyboard. ;)

Anyhow – yesterday I was searching online about information as to whether or not wooden cooking spoons are germy. We were cooking over the holidays in someone else’s home (a beautiful home) and they did not own one wooden spoon. This would not be a problem, except they also owned no heat resistant silicone ones and the husband melted a plastic one. We surmised that supposed germiness was the reason for the missing wooden spoons. But is it worse to have plastic breaking down into your food? No idea. Thus, the reason for my research.

I came across this article on BNET. It originally ran in the Daily Mail earlier this month, so you might need to put your translator hat on. For example, trainers are tennis shoes (those crazy Brits).

This article had more information than I needed, but some great guidelines to keep in mind. And it’s all backed by university studies, etc… Here is a sampling:
– Replace pillows every 2 years
– Replace duvets every 5 years
– Replace cutting boards every 3 years or before if deep grooves appear

To those of you who have a little germaphobia going on, and I just sent you into orbit – so sorry! To those of you with Christmas money and gift cards burning a hole in your pocket – you’re welcome!

As 2010 comes to an end, I had one last home related purchase to make. This:

Thanks Dad!


Will be showing up in March thanks to a gift card from my dad, and the husband’s relief over me not buying a similar, but more expensive piece from Jonathon Adler. That’s right people, just after promising not to make anymore furniture purchases for months, I have hit upon the BEST strategy: Show him just how bad it could be! Oh well! Life is never fair, but it’s still great. Happy New Year!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Great post, Nichole! I love your blog and your personality. I truly do.

    I just want to wish you a very blessed 2011 and that you continue being this person so honest and truthful. I admire you for that.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  2. Ooo, thanks for the article. That was very informative – and gross! I’m definitely going shopping for new pillows. BTW, I think “loo” sounds much nicer than “toilet”.

    Let me try it: “O Sweetie, don’t forget to clean the loo today.”

    Yup, works for me! :)

    Reply

  3. Oh my gosh! Love the new desk/table. Yummy!

    Reply

  4. Oh…want! Want want!

    The table/desk thingy. Not the germy wooden spoons. Already have plenty of those.

    Envy! And want!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jesse on January 5, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    But if you blend up the wooden spoons, they don’t last long enough to get germy! And thanks, now my duvet is making me paranoid. :)

    Reply

    • I don’t know how, but I completely forgot about that!

      To those not in on the joke: As a newlywed using her blender for the first time, I served Jesse and her husband chocolate malts with a garnish of chopped wooden spoon!

      I think I’m going to start buying white Ikea comforters to use as duvets. Much less expensive, if I remember correctly.

      Reply

  6. [...] my Wooden Spoon freak out last Friday, I went through and evaluated all of mine and threw away 3. I replaced them [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

