Swag: Yay Or Nay

So this is what I am wondering today: What is your opinion on free stuff? I have started to become aware only recently for myself that when you have a blog, you can sometimes be offered free stuff. I have seen it happen on other blogs, and it doesn’t bother me one bit. I have even been the recipient of some free stuff, when a giveaway was involved. I already did a giveaway of a gift certificate for a company a few months ago. And I was great with that, because it was free stuff for other people. But this next opportunity is free stuff for me, in exchange for a product review.

The free stuff for me is where I’m a little less sure of how I feel. So, I’m asking you. If you have a blog, how do you handle this? If you read blogs, what is your opinion on this?

I will tell you that I have agreed to this one. The company did not ask for a positive review, only a review. It is a company I was going to buy stuff from anyway, so it’s not like I’ll be buying or using a product that I wouldn’t otherwise. I feel that I will take things on a case by case basis. And it’s not like people are beating down my door, so this question is really to appease my curiosity.

Just for fun, I will tell you the husband’s two cents worth: In the con column he said, “One of the great things about the internet are the spontaneous reviews of products, with no monetary reason attached.”. In the pro column he said “Since you spent $50 of my money on the Amazon gift card giveaway, you must do the product review to try and re-coup my money.”. Isn’t he hilarious? I feel I must give reassurance here to any new readers that these money comments are all a part of my husband’s dry sense of humor. I run the money and the budget in our house and we make big decisions together. So, there is no cause for concern. :)

What do you think? How do you handle the swag? Are you a Yay or a Nay? Or do you think it all depends on the situation and the swag involved?

Photo can be found here.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Phillips on January 17, 2011 at 8:56 am

    I have never been offered swag, just gifted it by a certain blogger that I (somehow, someway) win from. ;)

    If it were me, though, I’d go for it. They’re not asking for an endorsement, just a review. I’d have a disclaimer in that post about the fact that you were compensated to review but that the opinion is all yours.

    What sort of goodies do you have coming your way?? Exciting!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jennie on January 17, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I agree…review the products. It is a perk for what you do. Though, definitely have a disclaimer. The only thing I don’t like are ads all over the blog and when people have a little thing on the side asking for money. I can see it if the whole purpose of the blog is to help a sick child or something like that.

    Reply

    • Thanks for speaking up, Jennie. I almost never notice the ads unless they pop up or are loud. Those always bug me a little. And I totally agree with you about the money if it’s for a good cause. In fact, I learned about a great charity on the blog An Inch of Gray http://aninchofgray.blogspot.com/ because she was raising money for Charity: Water. Which turns out to be this amazing organization that is building wells for less money, and faster than anyone else in the 3rd world. Ok, I guess I got off on a tangent there. Anyway, I definitely agree with your sentiments. Thanks for commenting. :)

      Reply

  3. Hello Nic!

    Ok.. So, are you going to play the lottery this week? You bet I will… :-)

    Here’s my opinion. I would agree ONLY if I totally believe in the company and product. Somebody offered some “ridiculous” thing to put on my blog and I “politely said “no”. My blog is cherished and I won’t put anything there that has a “connection” with me. I know you’re like that too. So, yes… if you believe in the company and product, there’s nothing wrong with that.

    Have a Fantastic week!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

    • Yes, to the lotto. That house is awesome! Don’t let Stephanie see it, she’ll play the lotto and win for sure. And then there goes our house! ;) (Stephanie, you have to see the house on Luciane’s blog today: http://www.homebunch.com/well-designed-home/)

      Thanks for your opinion Luciane. I agree with you and I know what you mean. I recently got a weird proposition from a UK website that made no sense to me. And seemed like a bad deal for them a well, since I don’t think I have many if any readers in the UK. Strange stuff.

      Reply

  4. I have found that when one is in order…all 3 tend to be in more order. When one is off??? Forget all 3. I’m an all or nothing kind of girl I guess….

    Reply

    • I seem to be able to keep two in order, with one off. But I don’t necessarily think that’s a good thing. And I think the one will eventually infect the others. :)

      Reply

  5. I say go for it!

    Reply

  6. Err hate when I do that. Was logged in under the wrong acct. Sorry about that! Anyways, I still say go for it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

