What blog?

Yesterday on a crazy whim, I started a blog about my Lenten sacrifice. After I had gotten it to look tolerably normal and blog-like, I emailed the link to my husband at his office under the subject “What I’m doing for Lent”. I thought for sure the phone would ring within five minutes. It did not. He called a couple of hours later to tell me he was heading home. I thought for sure he would mention the blog. He did not. I finally asked, “What did you think of my blog?”.

Husband: “I guess it’s okay. As long as you don’t try and kill me with expired tomato products.”

(more on botulism stew another time)

Me: “You really need an new attitude, or I will cook only for myself.”

Husband: “Honey, don’t be so poopy.”

Me: “I’m not, and you know I’ll do it!”

*This is a pretty normal exchange for us. If you feel like throwing up or banging your head on a wall, you should not read further.*

After two expletive filled phone calls from his car about how idiotic Dallas drivers become when there is snow on the ground, husband finally arrives home.

Me: “So, how come you didn’t have much to say about my blog?”

Husband: “What blog?”

Me: “I started a blog today and sent you the link? We talked about it on the phone earlier?”

Husband: “That was YOUR blog?!!! Holy *^#%! I had no idea that was yours! I just thought it was some blog you found.”

Me: “No, it’s mine. Didn’t you think it was strange that the person sounded A LOT like me?”

Husband: “I guess I didn’t look close enough.”

Me: “Didn’t you notice the picture you took on the header?”

Husband: “Well, I thought it was awesome, but all of my pictures are awesome. How do I look at your blog?!”

Contrary to how the above incident makes him appear, my husband is actually very smart. But these little incidents happen pretty frequently and provide much comic relief. 🙂

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erika` on February 12, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I love it!!!! Laura and I thought you might have a blog in the works! I can’t wait to read more!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Laura on February 12, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I was the first to call it! Should my Lenten “activity” be to try and read the blog every day for 40 days? I think I can do it.

    Reply

    • I’m not sure how to take that:) It has been many years since you have had to deal with me on a daily basis. So, I think it would definitely count as a “sacrifice”!

      Reply

      • You’ve inspired me to get out my Art & Soul of Baking book. My goal is to attempt homemade bread…maybe even croissants. And I made a delicious PW chicken pot pie last night. And for the record….a little bit of you each day will not be a sacrifice!

  3. Posted by Erika on February 13, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I’m thinking that my Lenten sacrifice is going to be Facebook. I won’t be “tempted” if I’m over here reading you instead! And for the record, dealing with you every day was never a “sacrifice”! It was entertainment! 🙂
    Laura, PW chicken pot pie? You never cease to amaze me!

    Reply

    • The chicken pie was Very Yummy! I am determined to make chocolate melting cake from the PW website…but I need ramekins and I don’t have any. I plan to buy them during my walmart run next week so I will let you know how they turn out. If you lived closer you could test all my culinary attempts:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

