Ash Wednesday

I’ve got it easy today.

As far as official first days of a challenge go, today was easy. I didn’t have to cook anything. Since this a day of fasting for us I made one very small grilled cheese for myself and ate a couple of snacks. I don’t have to worry about the husband on Ash Wednesday or Good Friday. He’s a “crazy convert” who only drinks water on those days. I don’t know how he does it. I admire his self control, but I also think he’s nuts. 🙂

Here is my meal plan for the next little while:
Thursday – Pork chops, steamed broccoli and cauliflower
Friday – tuna noodle casserole
Saturday – PW meat balls, egg noodles, steamed veggies
Sunday – Left overs (if there’s enough), Mi Cocina if there’s not
Monday – Spaghetti with meat sauce and zucchini
Tuesday – chicken noodle soup and grilled ham and cheese sandwiches

I realize that there is not much that is daring in that menu. I have never made the PW meatballs before, so that will be a challenge. I know me and if I try to make new stuff every night, I’ll snap.  So, I’m going for one or two new recipes every week.

I would like to mention before I end my post, that grocery shopping on a day of fasting is not the brightest idea I’ve ever had.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Katie on February 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Wooohooo!!! Day one down:) 39 to go!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erika on February 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    I can’t wait to hear how the meatballs go!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kate on February 17, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Ooooh, meatballs! Tell me how they turn out!

    Reply

  4. Posted by lou on February 18, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Baby steps, girl, baby steps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

