Review – Pioneer Woman Meatballs

On Saturday, as promised, I made the meatballs in Pioneer Woman’s cookbook. The first thing I want to say is they are really good and very filling. The second thing is that I used slightly more hamburger than the recipe calls for (1&3/4 lbs. instead of 1&1/2 lbs.) and am now overrun with meatballs!

There were a couple of surprises:
1. There are a couple more steps than I thought, so be prepared.
2. The recipe calls for an entire cup of ketchup. I would have been in big trouble if not for three random packets of ketchup from Chick-Fil-A in the refrigerator.
3. Pepper is not listed on the ingredients list but she mentions using it in the directions. I used 1/2 tsp.
4. I managed to make these for the first time and not screw them up in any way!

I served them with egg noodles and steamed vegetables. I think mashed potatoes would be good, too. And the husband made a meatball sandwich with some of the leftovers on Sunday.

So, my conclusion is: I will make them again. Even though there were more steps, they were not hard. The steps just take time, not skill. This is a good thing, because skills in the kitchen I do not have. They are not very spicy, but you could make them more so by using more Tabasco or you could do what I did: use Sontava instead of Tabasco. They are a bit sweet, so I think kids would like them. You probably shouldn’t depend on my opinion in that arena since I regularly gross out nieces and nephews by trying to sneak zucchini and squash into my baked Italian casserole. You can find the recipe here, if you don’t own the cookbook. Go forth and make meatballs! (I thought of some really funny and off-color things that could be said after “go forth”.) 🙂

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Erika on February 21, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Good for you! I was thinking that PW’s recipe is similar to one that I have from my Grandma Mc. Grandma’s are more of the bbq variety, however. I will have to try PW’s!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

