Guilt

Want to know how to feel really guilty? Write about your husband’s drunk, glassy eyes or his insane five year furniture purchasing moratorium on your blog in March and get a really nice gift from him in April. Or you can buy stuff at the Wisteria Outlet super sale when you are not supposed to, like I did last year. And then get really nice diamond earrings from your husband two days later. Aren’t I an awesome wife?!!! (And obviously a savant when it come to grammar and punctuation skills.)

My guilt started on Tuesday when I found five boxes on the porch from Replacements. As my birthday was coming up and our anniversary is two weeks later, I assumed these boxes probably contained a good portion of the wedding china we never received. And I was right! What a nice, thoughtful husband I have! Note to self: Learn not to be a hag in March, because April will bring husbandly thoughtfulness and guilt. Unfortunately for the husband, my guilt is usually of the fleeting variety. As Mr. Bennet says in the best P&P movie, “It’ll pass. And no doubt, more quickly than it should.”. (Of course it’s the Colin Firth one. If you don’t get what the big deal is about that version in general and Colin Firth in particular, I can’t help you.) If you have an obsession with dishes like me and want to see what the china looks like, click here.

By the way, have you ever taken the Jane Austen Quiz? It’s kind of fun. It tells you what character you are most similar to. My result was Elizabeth Bennet. Woohoo! I found the quiz through Mrs. Mama’s blog. It’s on her sidebar if you scroll down. If I weren’t such a lazy, computer illiterate blogger, I would figure out how to put it on mine. 🙂

I know I am posting this on April Fool’s Day. But the above story was not a joke. If you are feeling cheated, here is a good one: I turned 29 today. Ha ha! Okay, that’s enough laughing. If any of you are hyperventilating or crying from laughter, remember karma is a *#%!$ (I may need to eighty six the My Name Is Earl re-runs.). I hope you are all having a lovely, spring day. Bye!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erika on April 1, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Happy Birthday!!! I remember your dishes…I always thought they were so pretty! What a cool thing for S to do! Hope your day is great!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lou on April 1, 2010 at 7:30 am

    Happy Birthday! It is great to be 29! Hope you have a beautiful day!
    I took the quiz the other day…Anne Elliot was my character. I need to watch (or read) Persuasion.

    Reply

  3. Have a wonderful and happy day!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Andrea on April 1, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Happy Birthday!!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Auntie V on April 1, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Well you know wonderful guys attract wonderful women. He’s a Prince. Happy birthday Princess

    Reply

  6. Posted by Katie on April 1, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Happy Birthday to the best sister ever!!

    Reply

  7. Happy Birthday Nee-Coal, I know I can’t say much because I will be censored so I’ll just say I love you and have a great day…don’t eat all your cake today wait until Easter!

    Reply

  8. Happy Birthday! As for the guilt…been there, done that, and probably will again. Thanks for your comment. You’re right. I’m going to work on loving it.

    Reply

  9. And…I love orange and blue. I was just matching up the two colors, trying to find just the right blue. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

