14 Years

These remind me of my wedding flowers.


In honor of my 14th wedding anniversary today, here is a very recent conversation between myself and the husband:

the husband: “It’s going to be great when your friend lives in the neighborhood. She can just drop by anytime. Now you’ll have to keep the house clean at all times!”

me: “Uh, I was thinking I would learn how to belly crawl. That way I could move around the house without being seen and could choose to not answer the door if the house is too messy.”

the husband: “I can’t believe that your response to the potential of a drop in is to learn the new skill of belly crawling! What’s next? Teaching the dogs to pee in the garage? (EWWW!) Reading with a flashlight under the covers like a ten year old boy? You have issues!”

me: laughing too hard to make a coherent response

I’m sure it never occurred to the husband all those years ago when our conversations consisted of, “You’re the best!”, “No, you’re the best!” (Yes, I know we were disgusting and lucky to retain any friends from that period!) that our conversations would be about whether or not belly crawling was an adequate alternative to house cleaning 14 years in. Thanks honey, for putting up with me. I love you!

***Special Note*** If my friend is reading this right now she is probably mortified for a number of reasons. 1. She would never just show up. She would call and say “I’m coming over.” 2. She’s shy. 3. She is going to assume from reading the above that I am not looking forward to this proximity. THAT IS FALSE! I think one of the greatest things about them buying in my neighborhood is that we can be at each others houses in a matter of minutes. I’m totally looking forward to it. So much so, that she doesn’t even need to call first. πŸ™‚ I make no promises about whether or not there will be belly crawling!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristin on April 13, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Happy Anniversary!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by lou on April 13, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Actually, your “conversation” doesn’t surpise me a bit:))) Hope you get to celebrate tonight! In honor of your anniversary, I think I should dig out my 4 inch heels from the wedding and see if I can walk in them.

    Reply

  3. I’m not ashamed to admit that I have done the belly crawl.

    Well, I’m somewhat ashamed.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Erika on April 13, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    14 years? Wow! It doesn’t seem that long ago! I think I still have the 4 inch heels also. I think I recall dancing a polka in them at your reception…but that’s all a little fuzzy. πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful anniversary!

    Reply

  5. i share a driveway w/ 3 families. it’s like living on a commune, but without the yummy, organic food. so the belly crawl? i can relate. i have done the grab my chest and dash downstairs in hopes of finding a bra in the clothes pile on the couch while willing the neighbors to have slept in and not to have looked out the window.

    looking forward to hearing about the running thing. i have ample thighs, but i have never used them in that way.

    Reply

    • I have done that run as well! I having trouble picturing the 3 family driveway. I’ve seen 2 family ones before, but my old brain is failing me on the 3. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. LOL! Happy Anniversary! Mr. HH and I hit 15 years last month. It makes me feel old, though I tell everyone I was practically an infant when we got married. I’ve never had to do the belly crawl, but I have frozen completely and not gone anywhere near the peep hole on more than one occasion, so whomever was at the door wouldn’t know I was home. This is very hard to explain to my 7 year old as I’m shushing him and telling him not to go near the door. I’m crazy like that. Mr. HH knew I was nuts when he married me and chose to go through with it anyway. Hope you have a great day!

    Reply

  7. […] Why do I still have on my pajamas? Never mind, I know the answer to that. I have issues. I have actually gotten a ton of laundry done. But I’m totally screwed if anyone comes to the door. Yes, today is definitely a day to implement the belly crawl. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

