An Update – running, ear buds and Mr. Bingley


Thanks so much to everyone who has inquired about Mr. Bingley. We think he’s going to be okay and living a pretty healthy life for quite a while longer. The diagnosis right now appears to be that his thyroid is over active. Several years ago, he was diagnosed with an under active thyroid and has been on medication ever since. So, we just stop medicating, and hopefully he’ll go back to normal. I’m glad I waited until now to do an update. Right after his appointment, I wasn’t very optimistic. It turns out he had lost 14 lbs. in the last 6 or 7 seven months. That’s crazy! I knew he was a little skinnier, but 14 lbs.! Poor doggy! He hasn’t weighed 64 lbs. since he was like 18 months old. I guess because I see him every day, it was difficult for me to notice. Hopefully, he is now on the road to recovery.

And now for the running. By the time you read this, I will have only five runs under my belt. It rained all weekend here and I wimped out. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But, so far so good. No shin splints or knee pains. The big toe on my left foot is still giving me trouble. But, it gives me trouble every year when I switch to sandals. So, I think it’s more a problem with that toe than with the shoes. They are a bit difficult to get on (probably because I’ve gotten so used to slip on shoes), but are very comfortable once they are on. The only down side I can see so far is that this is going to be a bit ruff on the pedicure. I may have to switch to pale pink on the toes, but that’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make. ๐Ÿ™‚

The saga of the ear buds! Why does Apple make such innovative stuff and then send you horrible ear buds to use with it? I guess they need to leave some room in the world for other companies to make good products. After searching around on Amazon and reading reviews, I ordered JBuds J2 ear buds. They shall be here soon. And thank God for that, because until they get here I am running around the neighborhood with these things on my head:

Picture it: short, chunky girl, weird shoes, dorky headphones. It aint pretty!

I have already been told that my weird running shoes may lose me admittance to a friend’s abode. I’m guessing the majorly dorky headphones will not help my case! Hurry UPS man, hurry! Before the HOA passes a new rule against all of my dorkiness!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lou on April 22, 2010 at 7:44 am

    Can you get a photo of yourself….I would love to see you with the gloved feet and 80’s headphones:)

    Reply

  2. Second the request for a photo!

    Reply

  3. Posted by andrea on April 22, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Those shoes.crack me up!

    Reply

  4. You people are nuts, if you think I’m putting a photo of myself in that getup on here!

    Reply

  5. The more I think about it, the more I’m now tempted to get me some of those shoes – but then, that might indicate I’d have to start exercising to make the investment worth it. So maybe I’m not up to the task!

    Reply

  6. I know everyone is talking about the shoes…but Id rather talk about the poochie. Mr Bingley is very cute, and he must be a happy poochie with his toys. Who cares about your funny shoes, and head phones. Dance honey, like no body’s watching!!!

    Reply

    • Thanks Amanda! I won’t let everyone’s good natured ribbing get to me. ๐Ÿ™‚ And Mr. Bingley thanks you for noticing his cuteness. Good luck with your event tomorrow!

      Reply

  7. Posted by Erika on April 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    You know I love a sweet lab doggy…Bingley is adorable! Glad to know he’s ok!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

