To Make My Friend Feel Better

I’m apparently giving a friend of mine a complex about her lovely home, by only posting pictures of the rooms I like and are pretty much “done” of my home. So, here is the worst room in my house. This revelation will make my friend feel better, but will also horrify my mother and make another friend start to twitch. πŸ™‚ Even with all of the fall out, posting these pictures is still the right thing to do. No one’s home is perfect and mine isn’t even close.

This is the Room Of No Purpose:
You may remember my mention of it in my post about House Faking.

Isn’t it awful? Beyond the incredible mess, which is mostly unpacked boxes and things I haven’t known what to do with, there are those lovely curtains. They are actually way too long and are draped over the rod and gathered. Hideous! I have no idea how old they are or how long they have been hanging in that room. The house is 15 years old, and I think the original white paint is on the walls. We are the third owners and I don’t think anyone has used this room for a purpose.

Here is the closet:

It’s not much better and is certainly not being used to it’s full potential. I have no “vision” for this room right now. We already have two guest rooms with their own attached baths, so another guest room is not really needed. It’s the bedroom farthest away from the master, so even if I could get my uterus to work, it’s not a nursery contender. Maybe I need to go all crazy Container Store and make a giant storage room!!! (The husband is reading this at work right now and becoming extremely concerned!)

The room is so bad that Mr. Bingley cannot bring himself to look at it, much less enter!

Mr. Darcy may look brave, but the truth is he’s nosy and can’t stand to feel left out!

If you have any suggestions for me, bring it on! The only thing I can think of is that I don’t have a room with twin beds, yet. And I do have lots of nieces and nephews. So, it would definitely get used. Also, it’s quite a large room. So if I needed extra storage, I could do one of those Ikea closets along an entire wall. This house actually lacks a linen closet. So, the need for extra storage is not completely laughable. Well, maybe a little bit funny! What do you think? And do you have a room like this in your house? If so, are you brave enough to admit it?!

16 responses to this post.

  1. Haha! How could I NOT take a peek?!

    Oooh, I would love to get my hands on that room. Send me the private Jet and I’ll be over!

    Reply

  2. This might not be the most practical suggestion – but what about having a trampoline built to that rooms specifications?

    Now that’d be an awesome room.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Your old friend Mary on April 28, 2010 at 9:23 am

    I’m twitching looking at that room.

    I can’t imagine having a home big enough to have a Room of No Purpose; that’s awesome. I have had to repurpose rooms in order to accommodate our family. Sadly, Travis lost his study but we now have a 4th bedroom with a queen bed. Sebastian sleeps there now, but I can kick him out and use it for guests. (hint, hint.)

    Make yours into a twin bed guest room, or a triple/double bunk room, and we’ll all invade your house for a vacation. How’s that for scary?

    Mary

    Reply

  4. hahahaha this is too funny. Well it seems the poochie doesn’t mind the mess, and that is all that matters!

    Reply

    • I know it’s shocking! And it’s funny that I have two dogs that look alike, but are total opposites. Mr. Darcy actually falls asleep on top of shoes! And that picture of Mr. Bingley is for real. He will not go in that messy room!

      Reply

  5. Posted by katiekelly on April 28, 2010 at 10:50 am

    i turned my spare room into a “workout room”
    treadmill, weights, tv, yoga stuff

    Reply

    • Thanks Katie. I probably should have mentioned that we have one of those rooms, too. I should use it more often, but at least I’ve been doing my running outdoors. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Too funny!

    When I was growing up we always had a room called “the Junk room.” I say if you don’t have a basement for your extra stuff, just keep it as is. Ah, but a trip to the Container Store would be fun…

    Reply

    • We don’t have a basement. I miss basements! Not only is the storage awesome, but living at the end of Tonado Alley without a basement is nerve wracking! I guess in the interest of full disclosure, I should add that we have three attics. And they are not full. But I still like basements better.

      Reply

  7. Posted by Jesse on April 29, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Well, I’d do a huge foam pit or an indoor play center. I get so envious watching the kids at play centers and they get a great workout so it’s healthy, right? Your house still looks nicer than mine, but I’ll let you back into mine now πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Posted by Marcia on May 1, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Several thoughts,

    A sleeping/playroom for visiting children

    A clothing center with ironing/sewing/storage

    A chapel and storage

    An art gallery of family pictures

    A craft center of what I don’t know , so a room of multiple purposes that could some or all of the above.

    Love,
    Mom

    Reply

  9. My parents had a room like that. 20 years later it has been titled “The Scary Room” by my daughter as it is filled, floor to ceiling, with Stuff. It kind of looms over one if they are brave enough to enter.

    Reply

  10. […] that was known for many years as The Room Of No Purpose. I blogged about it for the first time here. It has gone through a couple of big cleanups since then. But in the last couple of months, my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

