Beware The Fancy Pants

Fancy Pants

Our home has fancy appliances – fancy pants. Let me clarify that further, old fancy pants. Except for the dishwasher (I got a new one for Christmas) and the microwave, which appears to be from 2006, the rest are original to the house. Fancy pants, no matter the age, can be very appealing. Until they break or malfunction, and you start to research replacement costs. Then fancy pants start to look like pretty, ticking time bombs.

The problem right now is with the refrigerator (as evidenced by the towel on the floor). I hope it’s just the ice maker and not something worse. But that seems a bit unlikely, since the ice maker is less than two years old. Because I have a brother who delights in freaking out the husband, I happen to know how much it would cost to replace that thing. It’s bad, people. Bad enough, that if it happens, there will be no more before and afters of my house for a very long time. Think years here.

I have no idea how much it costs to replace double wall ovens or a gas cooktop with downdraft vent. And I don’t want to know, because I love sleep.

So learn from me and heed this warning:
Beware the fancy pants!!!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Ooh – fancyness leads to disaster and financial ruin. Sounds like an 11 o’clock news story.

    Good lucK!

    Reply

  2. This is actually why I get a bit tweaky about these sorts of things. Like options on cars. All I can think of is, “What happens when they break?”

    ‘Cause that’s ALWAYS what happens!

    Reply

  3. Did you check the evaporation pan under the refrigerator? Perhaps when you were cleaning the floor you might have bumped it out of position. The refrigerator has a pan that collects the water when it goes through a defrost cycle and the water then just evaporates; if the pan is moved or knock out of place the water ends up on your floor. Anyway it’s just something you could check…maybe you have already. It could also just be a loose connection on the water supply to your ice-maker. What I’m trying to do is give you hope, and a few things to check.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

