A New Rug: Help!

Today the UPS man brought this 5×8, wool, Safavieh rug. I got it for a steal from everyone’s favorite rug dealer, Overstock.com. BUT, I don’t know if it’s going to work. So after looking at the pictures, please give your honest opinion, and possibly suggestions if you have any.

***Special Note To The Husband*** Calm Down!!!

Here is a view from the front hall. This room is to the left, when coming in the front door.

What looks gray, is gray, but was described as beige online.

As I said in the caption above, the beige turns out to be gray. A gray with brown undertones. I’m a bit concerned about the gray. Also, there will be a sofa (probably white, slip-covered) someday across from the chairs. And a glass coffee table. Here is a view from where the sofa will be:

Looking towards the dining room.

Now, remember I can use other pillows, and art and accessories to pull everything together. Or someone could. It remains to be seen, if I am that person. 🙂 One of the things I like about this rug are the medallions. To me, they help to bring in the traditional motif on the fireplace.

Pretty!

Please keep in mind, the rug in the dining room:

I love it! One of my best bargains ever. 9x12 cotton dhurrie for $170!!!

And the wall color in the dining room:

I will probably re-paint, but intend to use a nearly identical color.

I do think this rug does a great job of pulling the colors from the dining room into the living room. I am slightly concerned about this painting (which may be stolen by the husband for his office):

I love, the blue and green, but maybe the green is just one color too many for the room?

If the husband does steal my painting, I could move this painting into the living room:

Okay people, what do you think? My friend/design consultant is MIA, so help me out please!

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shelley on July 28, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Your home is beautiful! I’d like to see the second picture moved and the first picture “stolen”. It seems that it would help tighten up the colours just a little bit.

    Whatever you decide, I’m sure it will be gorgeous!

    Regards,

    Shelley

    Reply

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, Shelley. I think I agree with you about the painting switcheroo. But I’m torn, because I love it.

      Reply

  2. Okay, you should know, I have a label on my blog “Not Martha Stewart,” so feel free to take this with a grain of salt: I love the rug. I like the gray. I like it with the pillows. One of things I admire about people with fun taste is that they make things that would seem like they shouldn’t work, work. I like the eclectic (sp) but coordinated-just-enough feel of it. Love the rug!

    Reply

  3. I think it is a great rug, BUT the size is a bit small. What else do you plan on putting in there other than the sofa? I know, I know, you didn’t say ANYTHING about the size….{insert paper bag here}-remember husband-CALM DOWN and BREATHE!! I think the color works well, and it is a fun rug. I also think it adds some much needed interest and design in there, which is great that you took a risk. Get some more furniture in there, and then give us another photo!
    xo
    amanda

    Reply

    • Amanda, Thanks for commenting. I did wonder what to do about the size. I’ve never bought such a small rug before! I have seen in magazines, etc… where the rug is under the coffee table, but not under the furniture. And I figured, if I was going to try it, a room that was already carpeted might be the one to try it in. This rug also comes in 6×9 and 9something x 13something. I think if I’m going to do a big rug, I really need a true 8×10. So, I would have to find a different rug. So, what do you think? Stick with the 5×8 or move up to 8×10?

      As for the other furniture, a sofa, a glass coffee table from Wisteria, a white lacquer console table along a blank wall to the left of the door. And don’t even get me started on the windows! Even the paper bag won’t help you know who if we venture there!

      Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

      xo Nichole

      PS At some point the insides of those glass cabinets are going a dark blue, and everything in them will probably be white.

      Reply

  4. thank you, good information

    Reply

  5. Yes I agree. An 8x 10 may be the best option. But not knowing the room size I’m guessing by the photos! The 9×13 will probably be too big. But from my EXPERT eye, (the gold standard of opinion’s, haha) the current rug creates the wrong scale. I think it will force you to group your furniture closer together, and force it to be really close. Furniture needs breathing room, just like any good marriage! It is a great rug, but sometimes the best things come out of sacrificing one thing for another, and even BETTER results are achieved!
    xo
    amanda

    Reply

    • Thanks again Amanda. You’ll never guess who agrees with you – my husband! The first thing he said was “that rug needs to be bigger”. So, 8×10 coming up!

      Reply

  6. Posted by Katie on July 29, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    I LOVE the rug!! I think it looks awesome!!

    Reply

  7. Hi, visiting for the first time. I always feel a bit funny about offering suggestions the first time I visit a blog, but when I saw the fireplace area and read that the picture might be leaving, I wondered if you would consider adding something slightly larger in its place, possibly framed in black to coordinate with those great chairs.

    BTW, I’ve been looking high and low for similar chairs, do you recall where they were purchased?

    Reply

  8. I love both rugs, though I’m known for having terrible taste so you probably shouldn’t listen to me!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Lou on July 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    I like the rug and think it looks great. Bigger would be nice as well.

    Reply

  10. […] Thanks to everyone who weighed in on the rug. I have decided that it is in fact too small. Never fear, I believe I have found it a new home in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

