Who Knew?

Who knew that my posting about the dilemma created by Hunter Douglas pulling their blinds off of the internet would create such controversy? Not me.

Who knew that such a post would not only generate the most traffic I’ve ever had, but also the first mean comments? Not me.

Who knew that said mean comments (one in particular) would spur the husband into commenting on my blog for the fist time ever? Probably me. The husband is a generally calmer, more rational person than myself. But he doesn’t suffer mouthy, insulting people well.

Who knew that window treatment dealers are so passionate about their profession? Not me. But it’s good to see so many people passionate about their work. Not many people actually like their jobs. But most of the commenters on that post seem to. Except for one or two who might need medication. 😉

Update on my need for blinds situation:
I did have a local dealer come and give me a quote yesterday. Warren from Budget Blinds of Dallas. He was really nice and I even told him about the can of worms I had unknowingly opened up on my blog. I’m about 98% sure that I’m going with him. I’m just waiting for some samples from Esther at Blinds.com, since I contacted her before Warren.

Hopefully I’ll post some pictures of my new bathroom counters either today or tomorrow. They are being professionally installed as I write this!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristin on August 10, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    You did stir a hornet’s nest!
    Anxiously awaiting pics of your new countertops!

    Reply

  2. Hi Nicole,

    I think I owe you an apology. I run a window covering related forum called http://www.window-pro.org. Last week I posted a link to your blog using a bit.ly link to track the click throughs from my site to yours. Here are the results; http://bit.ly/aXGqt4+

    It looks like about 1100 folks clicked on your site using the link I posted in the email digest I send out almost daily to 3500 window covering professionals.

    I’m very sorry for all the attention you received.

    Sincerely,
    Rory McNeil
    http://www.Window-Pro.org

    Reply

  3. Just wanted everyone to know that Rory sent me multiple, un-needed apologies. And I replied to him on the other post. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Esther Steinfeld on August 11, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Thanks so much. They were rushed to you yesterday 🙂 You’ll have them tomorrow!

    -Esther, Blinds.com

    Reply

  5. […] Warren at Budget Blinds was great. And he was even cool about Mr. Bingley and Mr. Darcy, who like to “supervise” projects. If you are wondering why the heck I’m writing about wood blinds, click here and here. […]

    Reply

  6. This may cause them to be used in any room
    of your dreams. Blinds are very easy to do, so you can get roller blinds issues right and
    level. These come in different levels of opacity.
    From a decorating point of view you should consider blinds that are just
    too tall, sometimes you don’t need to choose a popping color matching your roller blinds interior.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

