The Green Bathroom: Where’s The Love?

After painting, but before the new counter.

So I was explaining to the husband last night while falling asleep, how much my friend, Julia Sugarbaker, hates the green bathroom. And then he made a comment that sounded like he hates it, too. So then I asked him if he really hates it, and he made some kind of comparison like: Roger Corman’s movies are really gruesome, but I still like to watch them. So great, it’s now the Roger Corman Bathroom. I couldn’t be more excited.

***SPECIAL NOTE TO ROGER CORMAN*** Please stop re-releasing all of your movies on special edition DVDs. The husband is spending all my money on them and I have a house to decorate!

Anyway – to make things even more annoying, the husband has now removed the conversation from his memory where he forbade me to paint the bathroom pink. In fact, I think he said “No room in this house will be pink”. Of course, I now know that I should have done what I normally do, ignore him. I’m talking the barest, palest pink here. Because the bathroom is attached to a green room and we all know that pink and green go together. Or at least those of us who were sentient in the ’80s do.

I guess the question now is: Do I re-paint now while it’s still torn apart? Or do I live with it for a while? What do you think?

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Auntie V on August 12, 2010 at 8:06 am

    Nic, if you want to paint it pink,,,you have to tell him it’s pale peach. I have had a pale peach bedroom for 20 years. IT’S NOT PINK.. Going to finally re-paint my pale peach, was thinking of green. Have any tips.:-)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Your old friend Mary on August 12, 2010 at 8:10 am

    I totally love green and pink. Green and red, too, but not the Christmassy kind. Can’t wait for you to see the colors in my house: it’s all built around one chair, which has a deep red, pink, cream, and sage stripe. I loooooove those colors together. Verdict: paint it pink.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kristin on August 12, 2010 at 9:37 am

    The blonde nieces vote pink 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ooh – I’m always on board for pink.

    Always.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Leigh Ann on August 13, 2010 at 1:29 am

    I have to admit I like the idea of pink too! (especially with your cute shower curtain!)

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kate on August 13, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    You know, hate is a very strong word…! I still like the idea of green, maybe with 75% white…. 🙂

    Reply

  7. […] Click here for the original post. This is about the first paint color. Green for a while. What to do about the green. New counters. It seems like I’ve been working on this darn bathroom […]

    Reply

  8. […] our guest bathroom for what seems like a year. You can read about the never ending saga here, here, and also here. But most importantly, you should read this post. ***Special Note*** I should have […]

    Reply

  9. […] with my gut instinct, even though my gut has been wrong on paint color before. Hello! Remember the green bathroom catastrophe? So not good! this room definitely needs a new […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

