I Have Issues

Two weeks from today, we are having an event at our home for a friend of ours who recently became the regional director of a philanthropy. About 160 invitations went out. I have no idea what the RSVP situation looks like. But I do know what my house and yard look like. And I’m in paralyzed mode. Part of my brain is chanting, “Holy $#*% “over and over. The other part is saying, “No problem, you have two weeks”. I have no happy medium. I have issues.

Here is a little tour of my “hot spots” as the Fly Lady would call them. BTW – I’ve tried for a long time to get on the Fly Lady system, and while I know she’s a nice lady, I can’t handle all the emotion in so many of those emails. It’s like somebody is crying in every third email. And to make it worse they call it “purple puddles”. I suppose that makes me a big, giant, cynical B. Oh well… back to my house of horrors:


This is the study. It’s right inside the front door. Look at all of the piles on the desk and the file cabinet! And if you think Mr. Bingley isn’t pissed that his bed has been moved from the center of this room, then you don’t know Mr. Bingley. It’s very possible that he will never sleep on it again. Even though I moved to another room where he spends half of his time. The doody head!


Crap that I pulled out of a closet last week when I thought there might be a tornado. And His Highness’s relocated bed.


Crap, crap and more crap! Actually, several of those things are supposed to go to the husband’s office. But the rest is mine to deal with. 😦


It’s a miracle! One completely clean room! Also, the smallest room in the entire house.


Probably the two worst hot spots in the entire house. And they’re even in the same sight line. I’m sooooo lucky!


After getting an email a few weeks ago about a family that recently came here and needs clothing, I finally decided to clean out at least the clothing from The Room Of No Purpose. If you missed that jewel of a post, click here. To make matters worse, while beginning this project on Monday, I watched a marathon of Hoarders on A & E. I did not sleep well that night. (Hi, Mr. Darcy!)


This is my final stab at positive thinking. We did get this new art work hung in the last week. My friend Julia Sugarbaker brought me the bottom one from Hawaii over a year ago. And I purchased the top one online from the same artist. Her name is Rebecca Lowell. Now back to my regular, negative programming…


These still need to be hung in the pink bathroom.


What’s this you say? Where’s the new mirror?


It’s right here, resting on the bed. Where else would it be? Above the sink in the bathroom? That’s crazy talk!

People, I didn’t even show you the upstairs. And while we can always hope that no one goes up there. I really don’t want to have that kind of house. I do have co-hosts for this event who will be helping with food and set up. And we even had a friend who was going to help us hang the mirror last night. But we just didn’t have our $#*% together, and didn’t have the prep work done. Ahhhhhh! Issues, I tell you! Like right now, I’m doing a blog post instead of getting stuff done. If I don’t post for a while, please pray that it’s because I’m making progress. My rant is done. I’m off to get at least something accomplished!

13 responses to this post.

  1. I think your house looks gorgeous – and two weeks is PLENTY of time!

    I mean, two weeks?

    I wouldn’t start panicking until it was down to 2 hours!

    Reply

    • Thanks Megan! I usually do panic the day before and then stay up all night. I’m trying to avoid that this time. I’m convinced it will add to my happiness. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Since you have an entire upstairs…just throw everything in big garbage bags and haul it up there. Hope you have a great party! What is your menu?

    Reply

    • I think that’s another reason that I’m freaking out. I haven’t done the menu yet. We’re only doing hors d’ oeurves. (Awesome. I just found out I had no clue how to spell that word). Any menu suggestions? And of course, there will be alcohol. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. I feel your pain. My piles of stuff are all over the place these days. You can and will get it done!!!!

    I think I need to invite some people over so I’ll have a reason to organize!

    Reply

    • That has been the husband’s plan in the past. Have people over at least twice a month, so the house remains clean. Of course, we’re too lazy about making plans, and have never done it. Now that my dogs are too old to go psycho for very long, I might have to give it a try.

      Reply

      • Posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2011 at 11:45 am

        Or get people in to clean — it forces you to pick up. Or it definitely did me in Dallas. I started doing Flylady in LA. Puddles shmuddles I ignored that. Now I have someone come in again and Nazi Mom makes me pick up. I could send her to you

      • Hey Gretchen! How do you like living in the Midwest again?

  4. Posted by lisa on September 17, 2010 at 8:16 am

    I have total faith in you – two weeks is plenty of time to take care of that stuff, and maybe even get deeply involved in some other house project!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jenny on September 17, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Are you going to blog about removing the bathroom mirror? I have those same mirrors in my house and would love to know how to change them out!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Katie on September 19, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    You can do it!!!! I know you can:)!!!! The fiesta will be awesome as usual!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

