Hamburger Pie

It’s a miracle! I am actually posting a recipe. This is a recipe that I originally got from my friend Julia a few years ago. It looks like she got it from a magazine, but there is nothing on my copy to say which one, or I would definitely give some credit. It’s basically a shepherd’s pie. I have modified it by adding more vegetables, replacing the mashed potatoes with mashed cauliflower, and coming up with a way to use only two pots instead of four. And I think I fiddled with the Worcestershire sauce measurement, but Julia told me to do that. 🙂

I took a bunch of PW style photos while I was cooking:

The hamburger and onion right at the beginning.

Steaming the cauliflower.

The Veggies have been added!

I want to pause here and say how much I love this pot. Not only is it rockin red, but it can go from stove top to oven to fridge! I’ve only owned a dutch oven type pot for a couple of years. But I really have this “Where have you been all my life?” feeling towards it. Which is pretty unusual, since it has to do with cooking. 😉

I used my food processor!

Right before it goes in the oven.

Done!

Here is the recipe:

Hamburger Pie

fresh green beans or frozen if you can’t find fresh
1 pkg. frozen mixed veggies (I usually use corn, peas & carrots)
1 pound ground beef
a tiny bit of olive oil for the pan
½ chopped onion
1 10 3/4-11 oz. can condensed tomato soup
1 tblsp. Worcestershire sauce
¼ t. dried thyme, crushed
¼ t. pepper
mashed cauliflower (use 1 head of cauliflower)

Run cold water over veggies to separate. In a dutch oven cook
meat and onion till meat is brown. Drain (I don’t usually need to drain since I use very lean hamburger.). Stir in all veggies and ¼ to ½ (¼ if you skip the green beans, and ½ if you don’t) cup water into dutch oven. Cook on low, covered, 5-10 min. or till tender. Turn off heat. Stir in soup, Worcestershire, thyme and pepper. Drop mashed cauliflower (directions below) in mounds atop hot mixture. Sprinkle with paprika. Bake covered in 375 degrees oven for 25-30 min. or till hot.
(Dish may be frozen and baked later. Although, I’m unsure about putting a dutch oven in the freezer. See first comment for more info.!)
Serves 4 to 6

Mashed Cauliflower**

Steam cauliflower until tender
run through food processor
add ½ to 1 t. sea salt (depends on how salty you like stuff)
add 2 tblsp. butter
add a splash of milk
Pulse until combined
add to mixture above at this point, if making Hamburger Pie
If you are making mashed cauliflower on it’s own:
Bake in a casserole dish at 350 degrees for 20 minutes

**Mashed cauliflower recipe adapted from the one at Elana’s Pantry.**

For those of you who think that your kids and/or spouses won’t go for the cauliflower substitute – Don’t Tell Them! The husband absolutely hates it when I mess with recipes because he doesn’t think I have a clue in the kitchen (he might be right). Even he had to admit that this tasted good. And he happily ate it as leftovers the next night as well. I hope you make this and it’s a hit!

Don’t forget – I have a giveaway going on through Monday evening. Leave a comment on this post to enter.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t think it’s a good idea to freeze cast iron – it is super durable and amazingly wonderful for stovetop-to-oven functionality (love!) and will do fine in the fridge with leftovers you plan to use within a few days, as long as you let it cool completely before you put it into the fridge, but I’d be afraid that freezing it might make it brittle and lead to it cracking! If you do ever freeze it, DEFINITELY defrost it by putting it in the fridge for a day before getting it out at room temperature.

    Looks quite tastey! Thanks for the idea – looks like Shepherd’s Pie, but much healthier with the cauliflower and extra-lean beef!

    Reply

    • Meredith, Thanks for confirming my suspicions on that. I almost deleted that part of the recipe entirely because it’s from the original (before modification) version. Have a great weekend and thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. YUMMY, Elizabeth! This made me hungry! Thank you for that..heheehe… lol… just kidding. I love you recipe because it’s no difficult at all and I will try it some time next week. I love to cook, but I am pretty busy lately and I need to find easy, nutritious and yummy meals.. this one is perfect! Thanks for sharing and I love the pictures. 🙂

    Have a great weekend, Elizabeth!

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  3. Posted by cindy schueneman on November 12, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Great recipe altho I like to use cream cheese in the cauliflower instead of milk I like it thicker. The food processor is the trick.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

