Easily Influenced

Last month I was reading this post on Bryn Alexandra’s blog about the importance of a home’s entryway. I’ve known that our home’s foyer was blah ever since we moved in, but I wasn’t that bothered about it. Suddenly, after reading that post, I couldn’t get it out of my head. A few days later, I was clicking around on Overstock, and I found a piece of furniture that I thought might work. Then I remembered the table from Target, I had seen at Isabella and Max Rooms. And then the cherry on top happened! I realized that the giant blank wall going up my stairway, could become my version of Lauren’s at Pure Style Home, which I have been drooling over for a year. And coincidentally, is in December’s Better Homes and Gardens. Now do you see why reading design blogs is dangerous for me?!

I’m not done, but here’s what I have so far:

Before

After

Here is a better, but unfinished after. The fabric is just wrapped around the pillow because I haven’t had the cover made yet.

After with the pillow

I added a picture to one wall, and it looks a lot better in my humble opinion. 😉

Before

After

A Different Angle

I love this table and especially the feet!

Foot!

Here is that big blank wall:

wall of blankness

I have the frames (same size), but I’m still working on collecting the pictures. I’ll also need to have mats cut, as each picture is a different size. There will probably be about 20 pictures in all. Here is a sneak peek of two that came in the mail today:

pictures of Our Lady

The artist for the pictures above is Flor Larios. As I am writing this post, I am remembering that my friend Lou’s entryway is full of Mary art. So not only am I easily influenced, but I will copy everyone! 😉

14 responses to this post.

  1. Wonderful pictures

    Reply

  2. Posted by lou on November 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    You should check out suekoumajohnson.com as well. Sorry, I don’t know how to creat a live link. She has beautiful art and I have a wall of her pictures that are all my children’s patron saints. Plus she is a member of good ole St. Teresa’s. I love your Mary pics…I will be checking that site out as well:)

    Reply

  3. what a lovely foyers! and that settee? to die for! am really enjoying this transformation. when i was growing up, we had b and white photos up the big blank staircase wall. i loved it!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Erika on November 17, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    I think it looks great! I love the Our Lady pics! Of course, I love Lou’s Mary wall also. We have 2 Mary pics in our bedroom now–so I will have to check out those sites for some inspiration! I also have the Angelus painting–in our dining room! Love it!

    Reply

  5. It looks great! I love the fabric you chose to cover the pillow!

    Reply

    • Thanks! It’s actually a fabric remnant that I bought from a designer several months ago, even though I didn’t know what I was going to use it for. I love it when my random purchases work out. 🙂

      Reply

  6. I love it! It’s so welcoming!

    Honestly, you did a GREAT job!

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  7. This looks great! Love the unique bench! I agree about hanging pictures – makes such a huge difference!

    Reply

  8. Thank you for the Etsy link! Those paintings are perfect!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

