“Aunt Nichole punched me!” and other Thanksgiving stories

Story Number One: The Arrival
Lots of people are here!:

My sweet niece Mary made me a picture that first day:

Things end up in odd places:

Rubber Ducky You're The One

Story Number Two: Setting The Table

The three oldest girls helped me set the table. As you can see from the photo above, I used my good china. Yea me! The little girls also wanted to use all different napkins, so we did. The funniest part comes now. While walking around the table, I accidentally bumped into my two year old niece who I didn’t see because she is super short and I didn’t even know she was in the room. She bumped into the wall, but I caught her before she hit the floor. It scared her and there were a few tears. And of course, she wanted her mommy. So we took her to mommy. My sister in-law came to tell me about ten minutes later that two year old Cara was going around saying something that sounded suspiciously like, “Aunt Nichole punched me!”. And she kept randomly saying it for the next three days! HI-Larious!

Story Number Three: My Sister In-Law Appropriated My Camera When I Was Gone
And she got some great shots. And some bizarre shots of my brother’s head that I will refrain from showing you. 😉

Goofy parents to five and one on the way!

My sister arrives with her honey.

Aunt Katie is so popular, she can hardly breathe! 🙂

Story Number Four: The Turkey
The husband slaved away on Thursday and the result was a very tasty 22 pound bird!

Good job, honey!

Story Number Five: The Nutcracker
Things to know about taking kids to the Nutcracker ballet:
1. A 6 and 8 year old may think it’s neat to wear one of Aunt Nichole’s scarves, but it may cause a battle over wearing coats. 🙂

ready to go to the ballet


2. A 4 and 6 year old will be ready to leave at intermission and may need to be bribed with contraband candy. Said 4 and 6 year old will also beg to never see the Nutcracker again! Way to go Aunt Nichole! 😉
3. The 8 year old loved it!
4. Even though Aunt Nichole has not had on ballet shoes in years, she’s crazy, and therefore wanted to kill all the people not pointing their toes! Another sign of said crazy, is me writing in the third person. 😉

Story Number Six: Aunt Katie Is Evil
I have no pictures for number six because I was very tired and it was very early. Aunt Katie got all the little girls (and Mr. Darcy) all riled up early on Saturday morning and they woke up the entire house. Her boyfriend bore the brunt of this in the form of three little girls waking him up by jumping on his bed. And Mr. Darcy (who loves to be in on the action) jumped up there, too and licked the poor guy’s face. But luckily, they were so loud that none of us felt left out. 😉

Story Number Seven: Wear Out The Kids
I don’t think that when my brother asked my sister to take the kids outside and wear them out with exercise:

That he counted on one of the activities being the singing and doing of “Shake Your Bootee”!

Story Number Eight: Risk, The Game Of Global Domination
The evil husband got one of our competitive nephews (we have several) interested in Risk. They played FOUR TIMES! And roped in my sister’s boyfriend on the last game. They were in the dining room for hours and my nephew played right up until they left for home.

Insanity!

We had a great time and hope everyone else did, too!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lou on November 29, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Looks like you had a great time! And yea for Katie! I didn’t know she had a beau:) Your family looks great.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mary on November 29, 2010 at 8:06 am

    How wonderful to have a full house for a holiday. Wonderful!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Janie P on November 29, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Wonderful post. I think you had a Thanksgiving that will be remembered when the little ballerinas are old ladies! Good Job!
    And now you can rest and get ready for Christmas! You are a good Aunt, Sister and Sister in Law, and wife! And what a turkey!

    Reply

  4. Nichole,

    Seeing your beautiful family and that yummy turkey made me want to be part of it.. 🙂 You’re a blessed girl!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  5. Sounds like y’all had a blast!! Thanks for visiting.

    Reply

  6. I love it, Nichole! We did a Nutcracker afternoon also…with only 2 little girls, but it FELT like 8! I’m so glad you all had a wonderful holiday – the table looked beautiful!

    Reply

  7. How fun! I especially love the fact that you guys played RISK! One of my favorite games, but no one ever sticks around long enough to finish it with me!

    Reply

  8. That looks like a lovely holiday!

    Risk is banned from our house.

    The simmering political conflicts post-detante were more than I could take.

    Reply

  9. […] My brother continues to coach my niece to say, “Aunt Nichole punched me” each time we are on the phone. Usually after a few […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

