Suggestions, Please!

People, I am in a reading rut! It’s more than ten days until Christmas (when I will surely get some new books as gifts) and I need something to read! So, what are y’all reading right now? What is your favorite book that you have read in the past year? Help a girl out!

26 responses to this post.

  1. What type of books do you like to read?

    Reply

    • I like fiction mostly. I like happy endings, but most of today’s romance novels are a bit too salty, if ya know what I mean. 🙂 Jane Austen is my favorite. I also like mysteries. I’ve read all of the Stephanie Plum novels (which are a bit salty, but so funny that I don’t care), the Spellman books by Lisa Lutz, a mystery series by Deborah Crombie, I could go on and on. I have to say that the type of gut wrenching fiction that usually makes it into Oprah’s book club, is not for me. I still shudder when I remember reading “She’s Come Undone” by Wally Lamb. I also like some non-fiction but it’s a little harder to quantify what type. Thanks for asking, Liz! Hope you are having a lovely holiday season. 🙂

      Reply

      • Posted by Liz on December 14, 2010 at 1:05 pm

        Oh and I haven’t liked any book that Oprah has ever had in her book club, so your not the only one.

  2. Posted by Stephanie Phillips on December 14, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Skinny Dip by Carl Hiaasen was good! My MIL recommended it and I enjoyed it. It’s a little lewd at points, but a very fun read.

    The Sookie Stackhouse series is awesome, I’ve loved them all.

    Men and Dogs by Katie Crouch.

    The Scent of Rain and Lightning by Nancy Pickard. I really liked this one!

    Just went through my most recent in the Nook. 😉

    Reply

    • Thanks, Stephanie! I’ve been wondering about Carl Hiaasen, so it’s nice to have a recommendation. I will definitely look into all of those.

      Reply

      • Posted by Liz on December 14, 2010 at 1:04 pm

        Hmm.. we have a little different tastes.. I like romances, just not the Harlequin kind. I’m fine with Danielle Steele, Debbie MacComber, that type of thing. I love the Stephanie Plum books and have read them all.

        I’m currently reading Knit the Season by Kate Jacobs, I’m also reading Silent Sorority, a book about one woman’s struggle with not having children. Recently I’ve read Unbearable Lightness by Portia de Rossi, which actually turned out to be a great book. I have this list of books saves from another blog I read, http://eatliverun.com/holiday-book-list/. Lost of good ones on there.

        If I think of more, I’ll be back!

      • Liz, I would agree with you that Danielle Steele and Debbie Macomber tend not to betoo salty. I’ve read them before. I just got a little concerned by what I’ve seen recently when I look at the best sellers in the romance section on Amazon, so I probably overstated my aversion. Thanks for all the great suggestions and glad to know I’m not alone on the Oprah thing. 🙂

  3. Left to Tell and Our Lady of Kibeho by Immaculee Ilibagiza (I think that is the correct spelling of her last name).

    Reply

  4. Posted by Marcia on December 14, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Left to Tell is truly sad and abhorrent, yet speaks eloquently about the power of prayer. It also is a testimony of suffering, surviving and giving to help others. I can hardly wait to read her other books.

    Our Lady of Kibeho: Mary Speaks to the World from the Heart of Africa,
    Led By Faith: Rising from the Ashes of the Rwandan Genocide.

    Reply

  5. […] Readers, a fellow blogger and I need your help. Yesterday, Nichole of 40 days of… asked for recommendations for design books. I’m making the same […]

    Reply

  6. Nichole, I love this! I asked my readers for help, also – in the design/decorating category. Let’s see what they come up with! Great idea, comrade-in-blogging!

    Reply

  7. Sorry – here’s the link: http://ow.ly/3pvod

    Reply

  8. “Peace Like a River” by Lief Enger was one of the best books I’ve read this year. The writing and the voice of the main character, is utterly unforgettable.

    I’ve also enjoyed Robert B. Parker’s books, especially the Sunny Randall and Jesse Stone novels. And you already know I’m a Jack Reacher (Lee Child) fan. 🙂

    Reply

    • Thanks, Kiana! I have loved your Jack Reacher recommendation, and am actually giving some for Christmas. Thanks for the new recommendations. Hope you are doing well. Merry Christmas!

      Reply

  9. I am reading blog posts! 🙂

    Reply

  10. I’m with “Lisa” above… I’m taking a break from books, unfortunately because I love reading, but lately I am not having time to read anything, but blogs. Is it that bad??? lol

    I hope you have a very FUN day, Nichole!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  11. […] About « Suggestions, Please! […]

    Reply

  12. I like Fiction that could very well be true even if a tad bit disturbing. It makes my heart wrench for the characters. I just finished “Water for Elephants” by Sara Gruen, and am now reading “Room” by Emma Donoghue. Love love this one so far.. I can hardly put it down. I am not really into romance or anything like that.

    Reply

  13. Posted by read2sew on December 17, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I just finished “Christmas Mourning” by Margaret Maron, part of her Deborah Knott mystery series. I read lots of mysteries but one book I enjoyed that isn’t a mystery is “The Calligrapher’s Daughter” by Eugenia Kim. Since I grew up in Korea it really brought back memories of the food and people…but even if you’ve never been there it is an absorbing read.

    Reply

  14. Just finished “The Girl in the Gatehouse” a new novel by ?? Klassen. It was a lot of fun for someone who likes Jane Austen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

