Life Is Good

Beautiful December Day

We have been having some gorgeous weather. Between Saturday and today, I got my winter gardening done and the husband and I put up the outside decorations.

Christmas 2010

Winter Flower pots

flowers for the garden and back porch

Done!

It probably won’t be as nice for the next couple months, but I really am thankful for our mild winters. I am also thankful for all of the reading recommendations I received. Thanks so much to all who commented!

15 responses to this post.

  1. Good morning, Nichole!

    What a beautiful house you have! I love all the bricks! Actually, I love all of it! Your garden, your plants… gosh, up here in Canada everything is covered in snow at this time of the year! πŸ™‚ Texas, here I come! πŸ™‚ lol

    Thanks for sharing these pictures! It’s so nice to know a little bit more of your world.

    Wishing you a blessed day.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    PS: I love your crucifix. It’s beautiful…. I have it too, and it’s the most important “object” in my house.

    Reply

  2. Oh heavens…gorgeous.

    Everything in my garden is dead.

    Dead dead dead.

    Dead as canasta.

    Which must be REALLY dead ’cause I don’t even know what it is.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Marcia on December 16, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Yes canasta is an old lady card game until a young lady plays it, then it is a young ladies card game. Ha!

    From Wikipedia for you youngsters!
    Canasta (Spanish for “basket”; pronounced /kΙ™ΛˆnΓ¦stΙ™/ in English) is a card game of the rummy family of games believed to be a variant of 500 Rum. Although many variations exist for 2, 3, 5 or 6 players, it is most commonly played by four in two partnerships with two standard decks of cards. Players attempt to make melds of 7 cards of the same rank and “go out” by playing all cards in their hand. It is the only partnership member of the family of Rummy games to achieve the status of a classic.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Marcia on December 16, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    PS – love the pictures, very inviting to those of us who have had sleet and snow last night and temps below 20.

    I’m coming out from under the bus now….OK?

    Reply

  5. Wow! Beautiful house! Love it.

    p.s. have you ever read 3 Cups of Tea? My favorite book. Me Talk Pretty One Day is a good, funny, easy read.

    Reply

    • Thanks, Jessi! I have been thinking I should read David Sedaris. A friend of mine has highly recommended him. I will look into the other book you mentioned, too.

      Reply

  6. Yes it looks great, its colder then billy blazes here in Lincoln. Ken

    Reply

  7. Posted by Erika on December 16, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Your house looks great!! I want to move in! πŸ™‚ You know, we are having some pretty nice weather here too…it was 70 the other day and we’ve barely had any snow down here. The mountains are a different story. Don’t think I’ll be doing any winter gardening, though. I’m sure that just by typing that the weather is nice I will have jinxed myself and we’ll get dumped on. Miss you!!!

    Reply

  8. Just dropped by to wish you a blessed weekend, Nichole!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  9. Nichole a beautiful home!!! Here in Kanss City the gardens are not looking like yours!!! Now I will have to try Canasta!!

    I have a New Giveaway from My Sparrow, come and enter!

    Xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

    Reply

Leave a Reply

