Being A Grownup

This week, I’m trying to be a grownup. What that entails is mostly saying “No” to myself about a number of things. ALL of those things have to do with money. And while I enjoy being a grownup for a number of reasons, not the least of which is control of the thermostat, I am feeling a bit whiny inside. But I know that’s just me being a baby, so I am determined to stop.

Here is what is going on: The discovery of the rat and all of the places on our house that creatures have been chewing, caused us to get estimates for replacing all of the wood on the house with cement siding. Guess what! Super expensive! Did I mention that we paid off our second mortgage on January 4th? We learned about the rat damage starting January 8th. The check I wrote for the mortgage would have covered the new siding with no problem. So we’re going to have to wait, because we are unwilling to clean out our emergency fund or go into more debt. I’m trying to keep the positive in mind: 2nd mortgage gone! And trying to block out the negative: The rats are coming! They are gathering strength! They could be marching on us as we speak! Can you get PTSD from having rats? πŸ˜‰

Then I was reading Simply Seleta the other day and she posted this image from Pier 1:
So cute! I immediately thought of our blue guest room. The table on the left side of the bed is too small. So even though I know I can’t buy it because of my agreement with the husband, I popped into Pier 1 to check it out anyway. Really cute! But the lines of the cabinet are too fancy for that blue room. If I was going to use it, I think I would have to put one on either side of the bed. And I don’t want to do that. I’m happy with the console that is there. It is really cute and on sale, so go for it if it would work in your home.

I saw several other cute things while there. This settee would look great in an entry or a nook in a hallway, at a dining table. Luckily, I have no where to put it. πŸ™‚

The same cannot be said for this chair. It’s super comfy (as is the settee above) and I have been wanting a big cushy chair for the study. My birthday and our anniversary is coming up in April. I wonder if it violates our agreement if I get furniture as a gift? (Hint, hint!) Of course, that would mean removing the area rug that is currently in that room. But we don’t NEED a rug in there. Okay, enough of my pathetic hinting at the husband! Would somebody please buy a couple of these things and send me a picture, so I can live vicariously through you? Thank you!

5 responses to this post.

  1. We looked at that same chair at the bottom just the other weekend! It is super. Haven’t bought it due to money reasons either. Total bummer!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kate on January 28, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    You NEED that chair!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Cheyanna on February 2, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Congratulations on paying off the 2nd mortgage! I’d bet my emergency fund that if you really want the piece of furntiture, you will figure out a way to get it, either as a birthday gift or negotiating with the husband. The husband must be a pretty nice guy, because I think he has difficulty saying “No” to the wife he loves so much. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • I don’t know about that, NO is his favorite word! How much is in your emergency find these days? Betting might be a good way for me to get the money I need to save up. πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

