Blog Love

For your enjoyment, here are some blog posts I have read and enjoyed over the last week (or so).

Professional interior designer, Amanda Burdge of AB Home Interiors in Nashville, did a kick ass post this week about the true cost of remodeling and redesigning your home. She uses real numbers and pictures to illustrate her points and it’s definitely worth your time to read.

Even though I don’t have little ones, I really enjoyed this post by a guest blogger over at Triad Moms On Main. It’s all about the things she’s glad she did with her kids and a few things she wishes she had done differently or more often.

John and Sherry over at Young House Love have had a couple of readers suffer devastating house fires recently. The lessons they shared have given me a lot to think about, and I bet it will do the same for you.

Penelope Trunk of Brazen Careerist can be amazingly insightful sometimes. And I found her post about Generation X to be just that. If you are a part of Gen X, give it a read and see what you think. PS Penelope’s personal life is a bit, well, nuts. So if that kind of thing bothers you, then for the love of all that’s holy, don’t start reading her entire blog! Just remember, you’ve been warned. πŸ™‚

Mrs. Limestone over at Brooklyn Limestone has been doing a series where she got other bloggers to clean out a junk drawer in their house. While I have liked all of them, I particularly liked Friday’s post by the woman who writes a blog called Tatertots and Jello.

My friend Luciane at Home Bunch did a feast for the eyes post about colorful interiors, which I of course loved. I can’t seem to get enough color!
Green Guest Room After

And finally, Julia over at Hooked on Houses did a post about Highclere Castle, where the BBC is filming Downton Abbey. I am so obsessed that I bought the DVD’s and don’t have to wait till Sunday night to watch the last episode, because I already did! I won’t spoil it for you, but I will say that BBC has ordered 8 more episodes. Yeah!!!

Have a great weekend everyone!

All photos except the last are by me and are pretty random, but may loosely apply. πŸ˜‰

9 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the mention! It’s my favorite day…Saturday! I can lay around the house and catch up on all my favorite blogs. What a surprise to come over here and get some accolades. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  2. Hello Nichole!

    Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! It’s a honor being included on your blog! I am really happy that you liked that post. I always wanted to talk about color and I had so much fun while doing it.

    I’m definitely going to read some of the blogs you’ve mentioned. They seem to be really interesting!

    Thank you so much! It means a lot to me! πŸ™‚

    I hope you’re enjoying your weekend so far. I’m having fun (and sometimes going nuts) with my kids.. πŸ™‚

    Take care, sweetie.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  3. Thanks so much for the shout-out! On the down side, my dreams of re-doing the kitchen may be on hold for a while. SO nice to read the blog at AB Home Interiors though and get a realistic number!

    Reply

  4. Thanks for the shout-out! I appreciate that. Now I’ve got to check out these other links you mentioned!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Amy B. on January 31, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    This couldn’t more timely for us, Nichole! The posts about renovating (we’re looking to put our house on the market this spring/summer), about doing more with your kids (we have a 9 mth old baby boy), and hence, the fire safety/awareness info are exactly what we need to be reading right now. Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

