Fat Tuesday Volume V

I can’t believe another week has passed again! I am late doing this post, as it is after noon on Tuesday. We are having horrible weather for us, but I’m pretty sure that means most of the people reading this are having just as bad or worse weather.

Despite our current nasty weather situation, most of the last 7 days have been pretty darn nice. Which means I have been really good with the exercise, and walked many miles around my neighborhood. Both with and without the dogs. They look so pitiful when I leave without them! (I only do that after they have had their daily walk and I want to go further.)

Unfortunately, I really haven’t made much progress this month. I’m only down four pounds, and I haven’t felt a big increase in my energy level like I was hoping for. This is all on me. I’m not being hard core enough about my food and I’m definitely not sweating enough. I am seeing progress although slow with my self discipline about soda. I honestly think the lack of energy is a bigger obstacle. To help with the work out issue, I have contacted a place that provides personal trainers. I must admit that I feel like a bit of a failure in doing so, but I’m going to shrug that off. Also, I don’t even know yet if such a service will fit in our budget. I’ll keep you posted. Have you worked with a personal trainer? Did you feel it was worth it?

8 responses to this post.

  1. Proud of you thus far! Hey – at least you didn’t GAIN four pounds! I will say that there were two times in my life when I lost a good amount of weight (15 pounds). The first was Weight Watchers. I was very diligent. The second was when I had a trainer. She definitely kept me motivated! Even to the point that I signed up for a week at a local gym when we went to the beach that summer! That is HUGE for me. Along with the trainer, I kept track of food on SparkPeople.com. It is great. I never used their meal plan, just entered my own foods and it kept me in line. Two years later I am not doing much of anything except eating and sitting around! I need that trainer again!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Rachel. So sweet of you to be so positive for me. 🙂 Thanks for telling me about that site. I have a little booklet to write everything down, but maybe I’ll give this a try.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Jenny on February 2, 2011 at 10:57 am

    Hi! I work with a personal trainer at Fit by Design in Coppell. Not sure where in the metroplex you live, but there is probably a similar type place near you. They only do personal training, which I find to be much more comfortable than going to a big gym. I do individual sessions and pay $50/session. I know it’s less if you do group sessions. I’ve been going for almost a year. I haven’t lost a lot of weight–but that’s due to my diet. I started actually trying to work on the diet compenent of my health at the beginning of this year. I love doing the personal training, though. I have a great trainer who really works with me on my strength. Just being stronger gives me a lot of self confidence that I lacked. And, remember, that slow weight loss is the best kind–it means you’re learning to eat right instead of crash dieting–which won’t result in long term success. Good luck!!!

    Reply

    • Jenny, Thanks so much for the great recommendation! I am indeed very close to Coppell. Like right next door. 🙂 I was looking into a place that sends a personal trainer to your home, but I haven’t had much luck connecting with them, so your place is a good option. I totally agree with you that I would like that better than a big gym. Thanks!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Cheyanna on February 2, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I have never worked with a personal trainer, but I have a friend who worked with a personal trainer prior to her wedding. The personal trainer motivated her and helped her accomplish all of her goals. The bride to be also created a “goal chart” in which every day she did NOT eat sweets or drink pop, she was able to mark her chart. After ten marks she was allowed to purchase a book as a reward. Perhaps a similar “goal chart” would benefit you as well?
    Good luck! I am very proud of you!

    Love,
    Cheyanna

    Reply

    • Thanks, Cheyanna!I remember you telling me about her. That would be a good reward for me since I buy so many books. And writing down goals is always considered a great way to make sure you accomplish them.

      Reply

  4. Hello Nichole!

    How are you doing, sweetie!

    You know what? Feeling that you didn’t do enough is normal sometimes and that doesn’t mean that you didn’t do enough! Rachel is so right! You lost, you didn’t gain them! Besides, this weather doesn’t help much, but be patient and kind to yourself. Cutting off soda is fantastic! You’re doing it and I’m proud of you. Honestly.

    Be kind, be kind to yourself… and calm. Love for ourselves is the rule #1. Be patient. You’re already doing it.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Post of the Day: A cottage on Shelter Island.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

