Fat Tuesday Volume IX (Mikey, Conan & The Rosary)

One week until the real Fat Tuesday! Do you know what you are giving up for Lent? What special things will you do?

I am going to give up sweets. This should aid me mightily in my quest to shed, and will also be very hard since I have a massive sweet tooth. I just need to figure out my parameters. Candy, pop, and dessert things like cookies and cake are obvious. What about juice? It’s like drinking calories. So, maybe juice will have to be included. This will also help in my goal of eating more fruit each day. I don’t have a big problem with salty junk food, so I’m not worried about that.

I also think we are going to try and say the Rosary together each night. This is certainly something we should already be doing, but it just hasn’t ever stuck as a habit. Here’s a funny story. I have a lovely friend who used to be quite ill (better now!). In an effort to help out, friends would bring meals and take the non school age children once in a while. Here is a conversation I had with Mikey in the car one day:
Mikey: Miss Nichole, why are you yawning so much?
Me: I guess I stayed up too late.
Mikey: Mommy and Daddy stayed up late, too. They were praying the Rosary. Is that what you were doing?
Me: Ummmmmm, no. I was watching TV.
Me thinking: I am a total loser!

Now, you would think that something like that would have spurred me into the Rosary habit. But that was three years ago, and nada. No habit. Only a lukewarm once every 4 to 6 weeks. So here’s to better habits, and to me not turning into a raving shrew without sugar!

Please leave a comment and say whether or not you observe Lent. And if so, what will be your Lenten sacrifice?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lou on March 1, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    I am giving up cookie dough and I will take each week of lent to purge a different area of my house. Good luck with the sweets!

    Reply

  2. I haven’t decided what I’m giving up for Lent. I’m thinking about sweets as well. I also want to read my daily devotion. I haven’t done that faithfully in awhile.

    Reply

  3. My lent goal is to stick to Weight Watchers! I am a Catholic gal and am sad to say that I have no idea when I last said the rosary. You have inspired me to do so!

    Reply

    • Rachel, I’m so glad Weight Watchers is going well. So cool that you are going to do the Rosary. There is a free app for the Iphone, if you have an Iphone. I need it because I can’t remember all the mysteries, etc… 🙂 (I’m always scared that the old ladies at church think I’m texting!)

      Reply

      • Hilarious that there is an app! I did not know that! My dad gave me rosaries when I was in Junior High School. THey were made of rosewood and STILL smell! I love it!

  4. Yeah.. sugar is a problem for me… I need to eat something “sweet” every day. Nothing big, but I love having a “Maria cookie” with coffee. 🙂

    Rosary… well, I’m praying every night for 30 days. My grandma send this prayer from Brazil to me. You can ask for 3 things you’re needing in your life. It’s not easy, honestly. Somedays I’m beyond tired, but I do it. I must say it’s making me feel calmer. I think you don’t have to do it every day if you don’t want to, but there’s something really special about praying the rosary… it’s peaceful, somehow.

    Have a great day, my friend and keep strong!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sherry Brown on March 13, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I love the idea of purging one area of the house each week of Lent. Yes, as Methodists, we observe Lent and I have chosen to give up Facebook for Lent…that’s how I “waste” so much of my time! Let’s just say that I spend more time on Facebook than on the Bible or serving God in some way. That is why I have chosen this as my Lenton sacrifice. Also hope that it gives me more time for exercise – which I have been in great need of doing for some time!

    Reply

  6. Posted by ShaneS on February 23, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    i will be giving up cookies and soda, do you think i could possibly lose weight?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

