Fat Tuesday Volume X – The Despair Of Swimwear Edition

Due to some upcoming trips to warm climates, I made the mistake of ordering some new swimwear. It came yesterday. Yesterday was a bad, bad day. There’s nothing like seeing your thunder thighs sticking out of a bathing suit to depress the hell out of you. Helpful hint: once you’ve worn a Miracle Suit, you can never go back. You may think it doesn’t make a big difference, but you will find that it does. It really does.

Enough about me and my soul crushing time in front of the mirror. Happy actual Fat Tuesday! Are you going out? Will you celebrate before the somberness of Lent kicks in? I’m hoping that we can go out to dinner. Should I have dessert, since I’m giving up sweets? Or should I skip it? What I should probably have is my head examined for complaining about my thunder thighs in the same post as the contemplation of dessert. πŸ˜‰

PS Happy Birthday, Katie!!!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Phillips on March 8, 2011 at 7:26 am

    Oh, I feel your pain! I’m at the beginning of a gym journey that I hope will culminate on my birthday trip with a less mommy-like figure and bathing suit at the beach. I want to start bathing suit shopping but am terrified of what I will look like in one, so I am trying to hold out another month or so. Bathing suit shopping sucks. Big time!

    And, for what it’s worth, I’d eat the dessert. Life is too short to skip dessert! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amy B. on March 8, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Ugh. I’m going to have to do that too, sometime in the coming weeks. NOT looking forward to it. Is there a miracle suit that goes down to my knees, and out to my elbows?? I’m pretty sure a regular one would be great for my tummy and rear, but won’t do *anything* for my ever-growing thighs and flabby upper arms! Yikes!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jen on March 8, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I don’t know what a miracle suit is, and I could look, but I have to say that I really like Athleta swimsuits b/c they have some shorter skirt/skort ones that are trendy and still cute.

    Reply

  4. Girl have that dessert! I’m stopping at Sonic on my way home to get a good cheeseburger after what is now referred to as “The Mardi Gras cheeseburger fiasco” & a chocolate shake!! I’m giving up sweets for Lent & I know if I don’t have something today I’ll suffer serious withdrawals once Lent starts.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Rachel on March 8, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Haven’t tried a Miracle Suit yet b/c I feel like they will just push all the fat to a new area. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. *heavy sigh*

    Seeing as how I’m a good 15 pounds over any numbers on the scale I’m content with I am NOT trying on any swimwear yet.

    I figure after I get my run trained up I will consider it.

    Not DO it, mind you. Just CONSIDER it.

    Reply

  7. Nic,

    I’ve been missing you. I’ve painting my house and really, really tired! Guess what? This is he secret to loose weight! I’ve lost a couple of pounds while painting the trims and crown moldings around here. Get a bucket and start painting too, Nic! πŸ™‚

    Have a great day, sweetie.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  8. Nic,

    How are you??? I don’t see you around for a while and no new posts. Is everything okay with you?

    Let me know how you’re doing, ok?

    Have a blessed week, my friend!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

    • Hey, Luciane! We’re just having a little spring break. So I abandoned the blog for a week or so. Should be back at it tomorrow or the next day. Hope you are having a great week. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  9. Hi: I just came over from Amanda’s at ABInteriors where I am a faithful follower!
    Yes, the Miracle Suit will convert anyone…love it!
    Sanibel Inn: I know it well. Love Sanibel,except the one year we had the red tide the entire vacation and couldn’t go outside AT ALL..not nice! I’ll be back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

