What’s Bugging You?

Here is what’s bugging me:

1. No one can figure out what’s wrong with Mr. Darcy (labrador). He seemed to be on the mend when we left for Florida. But my feeding instructions were somewhat ignored and when we came back, he was too skinny again. He has thrown up 15 times over the weekend. I see a specialty vet clinic in my future. My wallet is terrified.

2. I had a conversation in Florida with a college student who thinks that none of Jane Austen’s heros are masculine. This student has not read all of her books. But the fact that he has read Pride and Prejudice, and has this opinion is very disturbing to me. It is disturbing on two fronts: a. that this opinion exists, and b. that a young man going to a school where I would generally agree with their philosophy, and brought up I assume (big assumption!) in a household where I would generally agree with their thoughts and opinions, thinks Fitzwilliam Darcy is not masculine! What is the world coming to?

PS If you haven’t availed yourself of the wonders of Jane Austen yet, get thine arse to the book store immediately!

3. I am such a bad procrastinator that I am blogging, and even more amusing, reading an article on procrastination, in order to avoid all of my chores.

4. One of my fingernails is painted the wrong color. I failed to convince the girl at the nail place that she was using a different color when she repaired one of my nails. Now I have one nail that’s not the same as the other nine. I can’t figure out how I could have done it differently. Unless I got witchy with her, which seems a ridiculous waste of energy. It’s just a different shade of pale pink, so I’m sure I’m the only one who notices. Although, even the husband could tell when I showed him.

5. I have all sorts of decorating ideas that I would like to use in the house. But everywhere I turn there is a project having to do with the structure of the house that needs doing. This is very annoying. I know, I know. The price of home ownership is not just the mortgage. But fixing leaks and patching holes, etc… is not fun and it’s not pretty. (So says the spoiled housewife.)

Happy Monday! 😉 Feel free to chime in with whatever is bugging you.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Phillips on March 21, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Poor Mr Darcy! I hope you get everything figured out- sick babies (including fur babies) are the saddest thing.

    I’m bugged that the eastern NC weather can’t seem to decide if it’s winter or spring and I’m turning into a snotty, sniffley, whiny mess.

    And I’m bugged that my office doesn’t ease into chaotic work weeks. I’m not even full caffeinated and it’s crazy this morning.

    And I’m with you on the house projects. I have a million things on my to do list, but most of them would be better started in conjunction with some major renovation that we can’t afford right now. I need a $250,000 windfall. Time to start playing the lotto.

    Reply

  2. Oh, I feel for Mr. Darcy.. he’s so adorable… I hope he feels better soon, Nic.

    About your finger nails… What???? LOL How this happened? Sorry, but you made me laugh with that one.

    What’s bothering me? Well… my kids don’t listen to me anymore…. yep… I’m not going to be screaming or jumping up and down… I’m trying to find a solution, but it’s been really stressful. Of course, I love them more than anything else, but sometimes you can feel really lost and frustrated. So, I’m trying to be calm and convince myself it’s just a phase, but it’s not an easy one!

    Have a Beautiful Spring, Nic!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  3. What’s bugging me … the fact that when I have an idea for an out-of-town trip, we never seem to have any money. But when my husband has an idea for a trip(and it usually involves a bike riding excursion) we seem to have all the money in the world to go travel. Grrrr.

    Reply

  4. Re: #2. What in the world? I am fresh off seeing the Focus Features P&P (Keira Knightley version) just last night. Granted, it’s a film adaptation and not Jane Austen, but…..not masculine?
    Now I’m dying to know…what’s your favorite P&P film adaptation?

    Sorry about your lab. I have a chocolate lab too, although her name is not half so clever!

    Reply

    • I know! Totally ridiculous!

      My favorite is the 1995 or is it ’96 BBC version with Colin Firth. I do like some aspects of the Keira Knightley version, but the changes made to some of the characters, especially Elizabeth’s father, were too much for me to be totally enamored of it. Also, the longer length of the BBC version makes it so much more complete.

      What about you? Which one is your favorite?

      Reply

      • It’s been years since I’ve seen the one with Colin Firth, and now I am itching to see it immediately after just watching the Keira Knightley one. I remember loving it. That Elizabeth is a little more subdued, but I liked her. And that one has Colin Firth–enough said, right? It’s Colin Firth!

        Those are my two favorite versions; I’m going to actually watch the BBC one again before I issue the final verdict!

Leave a Reply

