The Egg Fight

Yesterday, the husband made egg sandwiches for us. He does this quite often on Sundays. Even though I know the dangers of non-stick coating on pans, we own one. It was specifically bought by me, because he likes to make eggs. But every time he fills the pan with puddles of butter or oil. So what’s the point of owning non-stick?

Yesterday he made my egg without any butter or oil, but when he went to make his two eggs just moments later, they both stuck. This caused much ranting on his part as he scraped them into the garbage and began to fill the pan with massive amounts of butter. I was instructed to never tell him again not to use oil or butter in that pan. And blah, blah, blah. He was really quite worked up about it.

My contention is that the pan became too hot, and that he should have turned down the heat. I’ve been reading the brochure that came with a different pan, that indicates cooking on high heat can be bad for the pans and cause sticking even in the best of circumstances.

So… What do you think? Is he right? Am I right? Is this one of the stupidest fights you have ever heard of? Well, maybe not the stupidest. It can’t be worse than the suitcase battle. Can it? 😉

10 responses to this post.

  1. I don’t think it’s stupid. I have one of these pans. I don’t know the dangers & I’m guessing I probably don’t want to. I generally spray Pam in it or use olive oil because for whatever reason stuff always sticks if I don’t. I’m sure this has something to do with operator error because as I’ve said before I am not a cook.

    Reply

  2. I think your husband is right, you should never tell him what to do. This is a ‘habit’ that you picked up from your mother and something perhaps you can work on during Lent. Also, why is it that when ‘we’ discuss issues with ‘you’ it is called ranting. I know your husband and I’m sure he was very clam and precise in his reasoning to use butter. He was making his princess an egg sandwich and you choose to instruct him on how to cook. Love, Ken

    Reply

  3. Nic,

    You ALWAYS make me laugh! Even if you’re not trying.. I guess it’s because you’re so real, so honest and I love that about you.

    It’s annoying when we have these “stupid” fights, right? I say “stupid” because, thank God, they aren’t serious. But we all have that… trust me!!! I think both of you are right. Not too much butter/oil because that’s not necessary with a pan like that. What I do is, put very little canola oil on paper towel and “brush” the pan with it. So, nothing will stick, but there’s almost no oil or fat in there. So, maybe you guys should try something like that next time.

    Nic, Thank you so much for your comment. You’re really sweet. I must say I’m a bit scared of having 3 children! Geee… but at the same time I’m sooooo happy and grateful. I know I’ll be busier than ever, but I hope to have enough patients, wisdom and energy for that. 🙂

    Have a wonderful week.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

    • Luciane, You need one of those pump oil sprayers. They spray a very fine mist. I did try to get the husband to use mine, but he didn’t want to use olive oil. And olive oil is what is in mine. The paper towel is a good idea.

      Reply

  4. No fun! Egg sandwiches sound yummy though? Those nonstick pans don’t last long at all, even if they are carefully maintained and never scratched. We have a really nice one, but we’ve had it a few years and it’s not quite as “non-stick” as it used to be. Eggs are the worst for sticking, too! I would guess that your pan’s getting old, but it’s puzzling that the first egg came out fine.

    Why are the most obnoxious fights about the tiniest things? We had a big one over a spill in the fridge last month….

    (Interesting kitchen equipment post, in case you are interested in that kind of thing. He talks briefly about nonstick pans.) http://ruhlman.com/kitchen-tools

    Reply

    • Cool site, thanks for posting it. I think you are right about the pan getting old. I think it’s two years old now, and has probably lost some of it’s non-stickiness.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

