Smitten By Suzanni

Woo hoo! The fabric came today!


I am completely in love with the fabric on the left for curtains for the blue living room. What do you think? It’s Suzzanni in Aquamarine. The sample on the right is Alexandria Scroll in Luna from Iman’s new fabric line. I think it’s lovely, but the other one is clearly better in this room. Right? Both samples from Calico Corners. I love ordering fabric samples from them because they have the “large size” option. So you can get a big sample without having to purchase an entire yard.

If I get this fabric, I could also use it elsewhere in the room. I still don’t have a coffee table. But I do have a large, rectangular ottoman whose zebra needs to leave. I’m from Nebraska, people! I can’t do animal prints in my house!

Also, what do you think about the light control element? While I know I would like bamboo shades right now, I think shutters might be the better more classic choice. I put shutters in my first house eleven years ago, and I still love shutters. But in eleven years will we all still think our bamboo shades are lovely? Or will we go back to seeing them as time travelers from our parent’s 1970’s basement?

The best picture I could find of the windows we are discussing. Isn't he cute?!

That’s two things you need to weigh in on: fabric and light control. Opinions, please!

On another note, I wanted to say that I had a wonderful time in Nebraska this past weekend. Thanks to everyone who prayed for my grandma. She had a really good day and seemed to be enjoying herself. I’m so glad I went. I got to be with my mom on Mother’s Day and I got to see tons of relatives that I haven’t seen for several years. The husband was great. He stayed home on dog duty. And I’m an idiot who did not take even one picture . 😦 I hope everyone else had a great weekend as well!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Love love love the fabric on the right. The darker blue compliments the bird pattern so much better!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Andrea on May 9, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    I LOVE the fabric on the left!!!! Want it actually! I would go with shutters, just lovely!!!

    Reply

  3. I vote for the Suzanni fabric. I think it would look great with bamboo blinds. The bamboo would be much cheaper than nice shutters, so if you get tired of them in a year or two, it won’t be such a big deal to replace them. I love shutters, too. If you need them custom fitted, the local Budget Blinds has good prices.

    Reply

    • Yeah, someone agrees with me! I’m also thinking about doing bamboo curtain rods and rings (probably with shutters). What do you think?

      Reply

  4. Posted by Lara on May 9, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    I love the fabric on the right. I love how it contrasts with the lighter blue walls and I think it makes your fabulous yellow rug pop! Bamboo is my choice for light control. The natural element will tie in with the bird theme and I love bamboo’s texture. Your home is lovely. Thanks for all the great ideas and pictures!

    Reply

    • Thanks for taking the time to weigh in! I know you must be so busy with your new little one. Sorry we didn’t get to chat longer the other night. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Oh yes! That blue (n the right) is AMAZING! It will look great as a curtain or anything! Amazing choice!

    I’m so glad to know your grandma was feeling good and you guys had a great time together. πŸ™‚

    Have a wonderful day.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  6. Posted by Amy B. on May 10, 2011 at 9:53 am

    hhmmm . . . have you thought to try to use the two together somehow? I love both of them and could see either as curtains in your blue room. If I had to pick one, I’d go with the blue on the right – I like the contrast with the rug. What about pillows, or recover those seat cushions, in the Suzzanni? I don’t know. You CLEARLY know what you’re doing, so I’m sure it’ll be fabulous whatever you decide. Good luck!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Amy B. on May 10, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Just confirmed with Terri, you don’t need to poll anyone else or go any further, definitely the Alexandria Scroll for curtains. Definitely. lol . . . We couldn’t decide on light conrol, though lean towards the shutters because of the traditional style of the room, the wall color, etc. So that’s it. You’re done. So glad we could help! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  8. Well, crap! Nearly everyone is going for what I thought was the second place finisher. You are definitely making me question my gut reaction.

    PS The husband was going for the Alexandria Scroll as well, until he saw the two fabrics in person. Then he changed to Suzanni.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

