Fat Tuesday Volume XVIII

It’s almost the end of this Fat Tuesday. After much consideration and a cheeseburger, I have decided that I must go back to some of the original impetus for this blog. I am challenging myself not to eat out, and to fix the husband’s lunch every day. I won’t be as strict as I was in the beginning. I can eat out once a week for dinner, and once a week for lunch. Can doesn’t mean have to.

I don’t know why I dislike cooking so much. It’s really ridiculous, especially when it’s usually so much better for you. And it’s definitely better for your wallet. I find the grocery shopping and the kitchen clean up to be so annoying. The actual cooking is okay.

If anyone one has any super easy and healthy recipes to send my way, I’d be very grateful. I have a couple of good cookbooks by Pam Anderson (not the boobtastic one!) and I heard she has a new on out with one dish meals. That sounds like it’s right up my alley.

So, I guess I will do this for the next 40 days. Hopefully, both my waistline and my pocketbook will be in better condition at the end. And holy crap, the blog name will have some meaning for a while!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2011 at 2:13 am

    hilarious Nichole! Good Luck! Please fix a lunch for Lauren too. I have yet to go to the grocery store from being on vacation, and must stop buying her milk from McDonald’s drive-thru!

    Reply

  2. I think you need a maid or maybe two. That is the way that you ‘do’ home maintenance; “I have had repair people at my house all week giving me bids: a handyman, a glass guy, a carpenter, a landscaper, a brick guy. Sometimes home maintenance seems never ending.” Annnnybody can call someone to do the ‘home maintenance’ it’s the doing that is the hard part. Maybe an idea for for lunch or dinner would be a “Big Salad” and drink lots of water…easy clean up. Anyway you are as beautiful as your mother so just stay with it and you will be fine. Oh, talk to the ‘husband’ about the maid tell him “Ken thinks it’s a good idea”. Love Ken

    Reply

    • Posted by lou on May 18, 2011 at 12:18 pm

      You always make me laugh Ken:) I agree, Nichole, you CAN do it! Try marinating chicken breasts in italian dressing (I’m sure you can find a low cal option) and throw them on the grill. Toss some veggies with EVOO and misty’s seasoning and roast on you baking sheets in a very hot oven. Cut up some fruit and you are good to go. Marinate in a zip lock bag, cover baking sheet with tin foil…use paper plates and NO dishes to wash:)

      By the way, how’s Darcy holding up?

      Reply

  3. Oh, I’m with you! If I could I would eat out more often. But it’s true, not as good for your health and your wallet. I love restaurants though… geee. 🙂

    How have you been? Everything is good with you? I hope you’re doing great.

    Have a great day!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  4. I’ve been on vacation so I’m just catching up. Hate hate hate cooking. Thankfully, the hubs not only doesn’t hate it, actually likes it. My biggest problem is trying to figure out WHAT we’re going to eat.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jules on June 1, 2011 at 7:40 pm

    I plan on using a number of these this summer. Most are very simple.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/18/dining/18mini.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

