A Recipe

No, the world is not coming to an end. Hell has not frozen over (as far as I know). ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am having to cook a lot on this diet. I did tonight what the husband fears, I made something up. It turned out really well, so I thought I would share. This also has the added benefit, that I can look it up again later if I forget.

Mexican Pot Roast
There are a ton of recipes on the web with this name, but none of them were what I had in mind.

1 piece of beef, at least 1 pound. (I believe the cut I used was London Broil, the actual pot roast looked too fatty.)
1 pkg. taco seasoning
1 can black beans undrained
1 small can green chiles undrained
1 jar salsa (I used medium)
1 yellow pepper sliced
1 red pepper sliced
1 bunch green onions chopped
1 zucchini chopped
1 yellow squash chopped
1 eggplant chopped ( I only used 1/2)
a little olive oil

– Pre-heat the oven to 350
– slice and chop all veggies listed above, and put into a large bowl
– add the salsa, green chiles and black beans to the veggies and stir gently until mixed
– set aside
– Lightly coat a pan with olive oil, put on medium heat.
– Brown your piece of beef in the pan for just a few minutes, and pour the taco seasoning on at this time, so it gets seared into the skin (I only used 1/2 the packet)
– Place beef in a dutch oven
– Pour veggie mixture over and around
– Put in the oven for at least an hour. My piece was 1.3 pounds and I did 1 hour & 20 minutes (might have been 5 to 10 minutes too long)
– Serve in large bowls and slice avocado over the top of each bowl

***This mixture is soupy enough that you could use stew meat, and make a stew.***

Sorry about the ugly pic. I promise it tastes good!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Nichole,

    I cannot believe I see a recipe here!! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚ I was making tomato sauce the other day and thought about you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyways, I’m totally into Mexican food lately! I just learned how to make the best enchiladas ever. I’m not kidding you! And this recipe looks so yummy and quite nutritious. Great thing!

    I’m going to try it. I need to some new ideas! ๐Ÿ™‚

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    PS: Loved your comment. You’re always so honest, so it’s great to get such a positive comment from you.

    Reply

  2. You crack me up! I don’t think it is an ugly photo at all. I think it looks scrumptious!!!

    Reply

  3. I think you need to make a rule that you can use no more than two smiley faces per comment in your blog. This is not anything against Luciane, who has a great blog site, I just think we need to set some parameters so things don’t get out of control. Love, Ken

    Reply

  4. Hey Nichole.

    I’m just dropping by to wish you a blessed week!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  5. I tried the recipe! Loved it! Should have made double!

    Reply

  6. […] in the kitchen, pork and beans. Leave a Comment Disaster has struck! The success of my made up Mexican Pot Roast has emboldened me in the kitchen. Last night I had a pork loin roast and no idea what to do with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

