The End Of The Road For Mr. Darcy

Mr. Darcy & I spent several hours together outside Sunday morning.

We put Mr. Darcy to sleep Sunday evening. His megaesophagus had resulted in pneumonia. He had refused to eat for several days, and would not even drink towards the end. The husband and I are both extremely sad about this. He had been in our family for over ten years.

Just a couple of weeks ago...

Mr. Darcy showed up in our neighborhood on Easter Sunday 2001, and we took him in. We found out several months later that he had been being fostered nearby. The woman he had been with was in the hospital and her husband says that Buddy (former name) “ran away”. I don’t think any of us believed him, due to lack of collar, etc… From day one he was happy to see anybody, wagged his tail nearly non-stop, and loved to play. He was my constant companion, who followed me around the house for years. To say that he will be missed, doesn’t quite seem to cover it.

One year ago

Mr. Bingley seems to be okay. He’s a bit more restless, and I catch him wandering around the house more. He’s clearly looking for Darcy. I hope this doesn’t result in a depression for him.

A rare moment of togetherness

Thanks to all of our family and friends who have been so lovely to us over the last six months. We’ve been a bit pre-occupied. Your understanding has been much appreciated.

25 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Phillips on June 22, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I am so, so sorry to hear this. Your love for Mr Darcy has been so evident in your blogging and I know it has been a tough road for you. I wish you peace and I know that you’ll think of him daily. You’re on my mind and in my heart.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mary on June 22, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I’m sorry, sweetheart!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Liz on June 22, 2011 at 9:38 am

    So sorry to hear this. I have a yellow lab that looks just like him named Buff. We lost one of our dogs 3 1/2 years ago, 2 days before our wedding. It was horrible. Please know it does get better.

    Reply

  4. Nichole,

    This really breaks my heart because I know how much you love him. I feel sad…

    I’m so sorry, my friend. I know that a dog can become like a member of the family and I know that Mr. Darcy was one for you both.

    God bless.

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  5. Oh, no! I’m so sorry for your loss! I hope Mr. Bingley copes okay too!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Andrea on June 22, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Oh Nichole!!!!! I’m so sorry!!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Natalie Huppenthal on June 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    I am so sorry Nicole!!! Keep your head up, and remenber you did everything you could for him, he knew he was loved…

    Reply

  8. I’m so sorry. Losing a pet is awful.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Janie Parsons on June 22, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    I am so sorry that Mr. Darcy is gone. In January I had to put down my Yorkie Sissy; she had been with me 15 l/2 years. I am still sad and grieving, but here is something I want to share with you:

    “Heaven is the Place where ALL the Dogs you ever loved come to Greet You.”

    I found this on a sign somewhere on eBay. It brings me comfort when nothing else seems to. I hope it helps you too.

    Janie Parsons

    Reply

  10. I am so, so sorry for your loss.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Amy B. on June 22, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    This makes me so sad, Nichole, and I can’t beleive husband didn’t mention it . . . though not exactly the news one likes to report I know. My heart is breaking for you all. If you haven’t read “Art of Racing in the Rain” yet, probably not a good idea to pick it up, but you will definitely appreciate it when the time comes. Mr. Darcy loved you for taking such good care of him.

    Reply

  12. So sorry about your dear Mr. Darcy.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Marcia on June 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    If only humans could love as fully and faithfully as Mr. Darcy. I am so sad for both you and “the husband”. Better to love and lost than not to have loved at all, yet it hurts so much when you are left without him. Time will heal. Wish it would fast forward for your sake.
    Love & Prayers,
    Mom

    Reply

  14. Posted by Donna Rouse on June 22, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    Oh, I’m so sorry to hear this news. I know you must be very sad. Mr. Darcy had a great home for many years and was obviously loved very much. Try to focus on all the good years and happy times. Maybe it will lessen the pain of losing him just a little . . . hope so anyway!

    Reply

  15. Posted by chris nordstrom on June 22, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    Nichole and husband,
    So sorry about Mr Dracy…
    Aunt Chris

    Reply

  16. Thank you so much everyone, for your kind words and prayers. I’m doing much better today than I was earlier this week, and the same goes for the husband. We know we will continue to feel better as time goes by.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Leigh Ann on June 23, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    Nichole,
    so sorry to hear about your dog. Too sad. Hope you all are doing okay.–

    Reply

  18. So sorry to hear this! Thinking of you!

    Reply

  19. Just saw this post. So sorry about your loss! My heart goes out to you.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Sherry Brown on June 29, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Just saw this post, Nichole. I’m so sorry to hear this. Amy talked about how you guys love your dogs when she put together the calendar for the office. I won’t have dogs as an adult because the pain of losing them was so great as a child! My heart goes out to you both!

    Reply

  21. This broke my heart. I am so sorry.

    Reply

  22. Been out of the blog loop for a while and just read this…I’m so sorry. Made me want to cry just looking at that loyal face. 😦 We have a yellow lab too….

    Reply

  23. […] had to tell my old neighbor last week about Mr. Darcy. I usually talk to her a couple of times a year, and I realized when her Christmas card came that I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

