Fat Tuesday Volume XX

After a bit of an absence, Fat Tuesdays are back! Since I went to Hawaii weighing more than I would like, and looking a way that I am not comfortable with, I am re-doubling my efforts. I DO NOT want to feel that way about my sister’s wedding pictures. To that end, I read this book over the weekend.

It really helped me think about food and exercise in a slightly different way. I really enjoyed it and found it motivating. You can check out Mark’s blog here. It’s also on my sidebar.

Another book I read recently is Tim Ferriss’s The Four Hour Body.

I like this book as well, but with some caveats. It has a ton of great information along with some “interesting” information and opinions. Believe me, you’ll know it when you see it. (Let’s just say that a certain Aunt would be so proud.) 😉 I had trouble putting into words my hesitation about Mr. Ferriss's writing, until the husband helped me out and said, "He does not appear to understand the concept of the soul". He got it in one try! One of the things Ferriss did say in the book that has really struck me as true, is to build up your confidence by doing new things. It will spur you on to greater achievement. I'm not quoting, just giving you the jist of it. I can truly say after ziplining over 8 different gorges in Hawaii, that he's right. Doing something like that is a big confidence builder and motivator. He also goes into some depth about kettlebells, which I found intriguing. We now own two.

What fitness and lifestyle books are you reading right now? Any that you would recommend?

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] Fat Tuesday Volume XX « 40 Days Of by DNA on Tuesday, July 19th, 2011 | No Comments Posted July 19, 2011 by 40daysof in Food, Books, Fat Tuesday, Exercise. Tagged: it's fat tuesday again, Primal Blueprint, The Four Hour Body, Eating Well, …40daysof.wordpress.com/2011/07/19/fat-tuesday-volume-xx/ […]

    Reply

  2. Good luck with your re-doubled efforts! I love the MDA blog but I haven’t read the book. Any chance of a review?

    Reply

  3. Ha! Just saw this, thought of you. Reposting for the title alone:
    http://whole9life.com/2011/07/the-400000-hour-body/

    Reply

    • That looks like a really interesting site. And that title is a total diss to Tim Ferriss. 🙂

      In response to you earlier comment: I do think Mark’s book is worth reading. The things I found most helpful were his food pyramid, his explanation of how many carbs you can eat per day depending on what you are trying to achieve, and his attitude and guidelines about exercise. There is some questionable stuff in there that directly conflicts with stuff doctors have told us. But Mark is pretty good about not being an arrogant know it all and just making his case based on his own reading and experiences. He makes it a point to tell the reader to do their own research, etc…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

