4 Down, 10 To Go

Window saga has finally begun.They got the exercise room done today. I don’t think that I’ve ever put pictures of that room on here before. We are lucky enough to have a ginormous room over our garage that houses an old TV, the elliptical, a weight set, and miscellaneous other workout paraphernalia. And we actually use it! The trouble was that the windows did not seem to be very efficient. When it was really windy, I would find bits of leaves on the sills. And that was with the windows closed and locked! Combine that with an over the garage room, and I figured we were probably cooling the outside a lot.

There's a hole in my bucket, err I mean wall!

Ta da!


Please ignore the hideous curtains that came with the house. We have been using them so that the neighborhood is not subjected our workouts. And also to try the fight the whole “we now live on the surface of Mars” thing we have going on here in Texas these days. 😉 Someday soon I will be getting shutters.

the other 3 windows in the room

The other 3 windows are without their equally hideous curtains because I got rid of them years ago. Again, shutters will eventually come to the rescue.

I am in awe of these guys who are working in this heat day in and day out. I hope everything else goes as smoothly as today did.

6 responses to this post.

  1. They look great! Who did you use? It’s still a year or two out for us, but windows will be in our future!

    Reply

    • Thanks, Jenny! We are going through Jim Moutes at The Energy Shop in Carrollton. We really liked him and he has a good installer that he uses.

      Reply

  2. Wow! You’re working so much around your house! Good job!!!! I’m loving seeing the results and I just saw your beautiful frames on ” The wall of Mary”. So beautiful!!!!

    Have a great day!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    PS: If you have a minute, please drop by to enter my Newest Giveaway!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jen on August 4, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    Love them! I’m interested to know how the leaves were getting in with the windows closed and locked. That is really weird.
    I really hope the guys fixing your windows got to swim or jump in the creek on the way out. How do you do a job like that?

    Reply

    • Apparently, a lot of what seals the windows internally had broken down over fifteen years and was no longer working. So if the wind was blowing just right…

      Reply

  4. Posted by Marcia on August 7, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Great windows!. Looks like the beginning of a mother/mother-in-law’s, winter residence to me :).
    Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

