Little Miss Cranky Pants

The late, great Mr. Darcy, getting his cranky on.

While talking through a recent difference of opinion big fight with the husband, I was informed that over the last year or so, I have become a bit less easy going. I then recalled that some other people who shall remain nameless, have decided that my temperament has some elements of Phlegmatic in it. (I totally disagree, btw. :)) But maybe that was their way of explaining my cranky pants.

After the conversation with the husband, I freaked out in true drama queen fashion, and decided that I must have a tumor. At this point, the husband apparently decided that I had not been upset enough, so he said, “You don’t have a tumor! You’re just getting old!”. Great. Thanks. Listen buddy, just because you’re a few months younger than me doesn’t mean you get to throw around the O word.

This getting less willing to put up with crap and be easy going is not a good development for several reasons.
1. I’ve never really been a push over (possibly, giant understatement). So having that trait increase in intensity, probably translates into something in the bitch on wheels category. Not exactly what I’m shooting for.
2. Life is less fun when you can’t be easy going. Uptight means less laughter. Less laughter equals less fun. Bleh!
3. Never mind. Number three would just reinforce the whole cranky thing.

Has this happened to you? Have you found yourself less able or willing to just let things slide? Were you able to reverse the trend? Advice, please!

Sincerely,
Miss Cranky Pants

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mary on August 18, 2011 at 11:01 am

    Don’t worry, we all still love you, cranky pants and all.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mike K on August 18, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    The mere fact that you can write about it means that you’re less uptight than those who hold it all in. Maybe if you write more about it, it will ease up a bit? Besides, you have a good sense of humor about these things – your writing is hilarious. Admitting that I lose things in the house and that I’m not that organized has done wonders for my sanity as well as my wife’s. It does mean I don’t try a bit, but I don’t punish myself either for it. And I don’t try to take on organization projects. Easy going friends are fun to find. Oh and I don’t think your husband is exactly easy going either. . . šŸ™‚

    It might also be attributable to more things going on this year than in the past.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Amy B. on August 18, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    Okay, when I first saw the title, I thought “Has she been spying on me??” I’m sure *MY* husband has the same consensus about my attitude/behavior as your husband, but you know what? I don’t care! I think they speak up because we’re not taking their crap anymore and they’re scared! But I have to agree with Mike K, too, that admitting it is the first step, and letting it all out “on paper” so to speak, is pretty good therapy. I am hopeful that this is just a stage and that the tide will turn and I’ll be happy and loveable once again real soon – as I’m sure you will too!

    Reply

    • Amy, that is too funny!  Now the husband can be scared at home and at at work. šŸ˜‰

      I’m sure you’ll get over the hump, and life will be lovely again.

      Reply

  4. Posted by Amy B. on August 18, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    p.s. Love the pic of sweet Mr. Darcy. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Liz on August 18, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Odd that you had this discussion as DH & I were just talking today about the older we get, the less uptight we both are. We have found there are a lot of things we used to get upset about and now could care less.

    I did in the last 6 months start a new friendship with someone and she is even more uptight than I am. Which is funny to me I guess as I didn’t think it was possible for someone to be that uptight. But she definitely is. Now I find myself laughing at stuff that she gets really upset over. Which people used to do to me!

    Reply

  6. I’m actually less uptight that I used to be. I tend to think it’s from the Lexapro!!!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Kristin on August 20, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Phlegmatic?? They avoid conflict at all costs!

    Reply

  8. We all have days like that! Have you read my post today? I wasn’t feeling very well the other day too…. and trust me, nobody should be around me when I feel cranky! šŸ™‚

    I love reading your posts… you’re always so honest and I admire you for that!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

