Evil Genius

I’ve been running into quite a few things lately that strike me as genius, but with an evil twist. It seems to be a phrase that has entered my vocabulary and isn’t leaving any time soon. This could be to the annoyance of my friends and family. πŸ™‚

1. The tollway below 635. One of the busiest roads in Dallas and surrounding burbs is 635. The NTTA has embarked upon an ambitious plan to dig below the road and create a toll road. Here comes the evil part: the cost to drive on this road will be ever changing, and will be directly linked to how busy the free road up above is. So the busier the free road, the more expensive the toll road. I told you – evil genius! There is also the slight risk that this could turn into Dallas’ own version of The Big Dig. Which would be a total nightmare and I probably shouldn’t have even mentioned it.

2. The Shelter Pet Project commercials. Have you seen these? They are killing me! Any commercial that could make a committed dog person like me want a cat, is most definitely evil genius. Well done Jennifer Tilly, well done!

3. All of those subscription sale sites. One Kings Lane, Joss & Main, My Habit. They send an email to your inbox full of pretty things every day. But there’s only so many and the sale is only for a limited time. Hurry, hurry, hurry! I must buy it before someone else gets it! It’s mine, all mine! Pure evil genius of marketing.

Am I the only one who sees evil genius in these things? Do you see it too? Evil geniuses are everywhere! Maybe I’m just jealous…

4 responses to this post.

  1. One & three I am with you on, but I don’t think I have ever seen the commercials you are talking about in 2. The crazy part about 635 is that it is actually a Spanish toll company that is embarking on this journey and NTTA is getting none of it. Look into it. I could be wrong, but that is my understanding, and I looked a little more before boldly commenting about it. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. It could be. I didn’t look into THAT far. It is a $2.7B project, which is crazy considering it is all going to some Spaniards. Hopefully they have hired a few Texans to work on it!

    Reply

  3. I haven’t seen that commercial yet. Actually, I never watch commercial anymore.

    I’m glad to see you’re back w/ more posts. I missed them before. I always enjoy reading them!

    Have a great day, Nichole!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

