Fat Tuesday Volume XIV

Me & Mary Kate at the wedding.


So…as you can see from the photo above, I didn’t really achieve my goal of losing more weight by my sister’s wedding. Not only is Mary looking super cute in her junior bridesmaid dress, she is also standing in just the right place, to help me look better in the photo! 😉

I am frustrated, as is my trainer. I am working out hard every week. But this is just more proof that the food component is so important. Especially once you are over a certain age. I heard a very depressing report on NPR a couple of weeks ago. The gist of it was that once you are overweight by a significant amount you have really messed up your body. Therefore, not only will it be difficult to lose the weight. It will also be more difficult to maintain once you have lost it. The example they gave was that someone who is trying to maintain a weight of 200 lbs. after having been overweight will have to eat 500 calories a day less than someone trying to maintain that same weight, who has never been overweight. Ahhh!

While this news is very sobering, it doesn’t mean I’m giving up. I’m going to continue. And I’m going to eventually eat right all the time instead of just part of the time. The danger zone of Thanksgiving is right around the corner. The excitement I feel about the prospect of cornbread stuffing is probably not a good sign. How is everyone else doing with their health? What is your favorite Thanksgiving food?

5 responses to this post.

  1. You look beautiful! And I am doing good, I will fill you in later.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erika on November 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    You look so beautiful!!! Don’t be so hard on yourself! You are getting lots of good health benefits just from the exercise. And as far as Thanksgiving food goes, I had Mary Thanksgiving on Sunday, and I have in-law Thanksgiving on Thanksgiving. Can we say carb overload? My mom made 3 DIFFERENT kinds of stuffing on Sunday. But oh how delicious it was! Talk to you soon…you too, Lou…

    Reply

  3. Y’all look gorgeous! I’m doing good on the eating front. Still eat out a little too much but I know that’s not going to change. I went back to Yoglates yesterday for the first time in over a week because of hip pain from running. I’m on the mend & hopefully will be running soon. I know what you mean about Thanksgiving. I’m very excited when I think of my mom’s cornbread dressing & my sis-in-laws corn casserole & mac & cheese!

    Reply

  4. Such a sweet picture! Love the white and black and red roses!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

