I’ve Got Nothing (As In Holiday Energy)

It’s ten days until Christmas and I’ve bought 8 presents. That total was 1 yesterday, until I went on a mad Amazon spree at 11:30 last night. I have no ideas for the rest of my people. This is a bit unusual. I tend to have at least a glimmer of something bouncing around in my head.

I had to tell my old neighbor last week about Mr. Darcy. I usually talk to her a couple of times a year, and I realized when her Christmas card came that I hadn’t told her yet. She sent us a really sweet card this week with a cute picture of Bingley and Darcy.

I hesitate to write about this on here, because it’s not anything to do with me (except all the crying I do when I read her posts). But… please read the blog An Inch Of Gray. You can find it on my sidebar. Anna has always been amazing, and she continues to be, while dealing with the death of her son. I don’t have any idea how she’s doing it, but she’s even sending out thank you notes. She included a wonderful prayer and picture of her sweet boy.

You know those nice sonograms they show on TV when there’s a show about pregnancy? Well if you are infertile special like me, you get an alien probe a special sonogram. I won’t go into anymore details. I’m sure you get the picture. Seriously, will the indignities never cease?!

The week before Thanksgiving, I forgot my haircut appointment for the third time in as many years. It’s very embarrassing that I have wasted Andrea’s time. The first two times felt slightly less horrible, because I had actually messed up while putting it in my calendar. This time was the worst because it was in the calendar. But you have to actually look at the calendar for it to work!

The worst news of all these days is that my father in-law is sick. He has lung cancer. Please pray for him that his treatments go well. We’d like to have him around for a long time to come.

All righty then! Aren’t you glad that you took the time to read my whining? It’s so bad, I should try to write a country song. 😉

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amy B. on December 15, 2011 at 10:52 am

    I guess it’s that time of year, to start reflecting, and sometimes realizing how fragile we all are, and it sucks for sure. But let me just tell you Nichole, that just because a woman is able to get pregnant and birth a child DOES NOT make her a better person than you. You ARE special! To me, anyway, and I’m sure a bazillion other people, so just stop that. You’re going to be an *AWESOME* mom some day, however that happens. I take my hair guy flowers when I forget an appointment – he usually forgives me, and has yet to take it out on my hair. Whew! I’m praying for Shane’s dad, and the doctors treating him, that God’s will be done and that everyone finds peace in that situation. Life is not always easy, but thank God for friends and family who love us unconditionally to carry us through, right?! XOXO

    Reply

    • Thanks, Amy! Your comment was so needed and I appreciate it and you. I took Andrea a gift card, which is my usual MO when I’ve missed. :) Thanks for your prayers for Shane’s dad. Hope you are having a great weekend.

      ________________________________

      Reply

  2. Praying for your FIL. I know all about the probe. One good thing about completely giving up on a baby is that I don’t have to do that anymore…….

    Reply

    • Thanks for your prayers Traci. As for the other thing, I love your ability to find the bright side of things. Hope you are having another great three day weekend. 🙂

      ________________________________

      Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2011 at 12:41 am

    Been praying for Norm a lot this last week. You coming back to visit this Christmas? Would love to see you guys if we could make it work!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jen on December 19, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Sorry to hear about the FIL. We will definitely add in some prayers for him.

    Reply

  5. I am so sorry to hear about your father-in-law. ((((hugs))) all around!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

