Garden Revamp Revealed!

Our revamp of our flower garden in the backyard is finally complete! Well, almost. My neighbor is going to give me some beautiful purple irises to plant in the fall. We inherited this garden with the house and it was very overgrown.

Before: mean, pointy yucca trying to take over

After: Confederate Star Jasmine and Butterfly Bush

Before: 3 insane rose bushes (that get sick in the summer)

After: So much better!

Before: Yuck!

After: Daylillies in bloom and vinca.

I need to thank the husband for letting me hire some people to pull out the old plants and weed & trim everything. Even though he’s still talking about the bill. 🙂 I also need to thank the husband for doing all the mulching and making a ridiculous number of trips to Home Depot. Thanks honey! Thanks also go out to my brother, who pitched in this weekend. Even though it was only because he was scared we wouldn’t feed him. 🙂 Thanks Christopher!

I’m linking up to Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps On The Porch. Please stop by and check out all the links.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Your garden looks so gorgeous – I’m jealous! I always want to be a gardening person, but my innate laziness makes it unlikely to happen!

    Reply

    • Thanks Megan! I’m actually quite lazy as well. Give me a choice between cooking, cleaning and gardening, and gardening wins hands down. But, give me a choice between reading and gardening, and it get a little tougher. Gardening would still win about half the time, because that’s how much I like it. I also think it has something to do with my vanity. Everyone can drive by and see how good or bad your landscape looks. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Wow! Gorgeous! LOVE the patio and fence, too.

    Reply

  3. What a great space you have! Love the little red bistro set for a pop of color.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kate on May 24, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    It looks really pretty! So nice and tidy– Love it! 🙂

    Reply

  5. The improvements you made are stunning. I love every single one of them! Gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. Wow, looks great! I don’t know a lot about gardening, but I know that Yuccas are yucky and vincas are vonderful. There were some vincas growing in my front flower beds when we moved in so that’s what I plant there every spring. They hold up well to the Kansas heat and last all Summer.

    Enjoy your beautiful new space!

    Reply

Leave a comment