Finally!

Finally refers to a lot of things. I am finally updating my blog after three weeks of silence. I am finally done with a project to show you. And I finally have a progress report (of sorts) on Buddy.

First, Buddy: Buddy has healed very nicely from his surgery. It turns out that he has not one, but two different types of cancer. The one on his elbow was misdiagnosed at first and was actually an osteosarcoma. They say they got it with narrow margins. He also had a bump on one of his back paws that I never mentioned before. Everyone thought it was a harmless fatty tumor. But it is a level 2 mast cell tumor. And they couldn’t get it all out. After much waiting and an appointment cancellation (not by me!), he finally has an appointment with a vet who is a radiologist oncologist. Who knew there was such a thing?!

I have finally completed (probably 🙂 a decor project. I’m going to post the pictures below. I apologize for my camera work and the fact that I really need a wide angle lense. My green guest room and pink bathroom are finally done. Complete with blue ceilings! Welcome to the fifties in my guest suite! 😉


Recent updates pictured above are the new window shades, pillow in the chair, shams on the bed and the bed skirt. The window fabric was found by me and comes from Lauren Liess Textiles. Beautiful fabric. The shams were made out of the former shower curtain from the attached bath. Bed skirt fabric and checked fabric on the decorative pillow selected by Mario and Bill of MBP Associates Interior Design Workroom Services. All installations done by Bill and Mario. And of course, MBP is the workroom used for all of the sewing. Great work, and I love working with them. They also did the new shower curtain for the attached bath, pictured below:
again, sorry for the camera work :)

close up of the new bed skirt

picture of the bed straight on
I must point out that I am not happy with the decorative pillow on the bed. It’s an old one that I’ve had forever. I ordered a new one yesterday, but it won’t be here for a while.

Source List
Paint:
bedroom walls: Valspar, Laura Ashley, Green Apple (3 or 4, I can’t remember)
Bathroom walls: Martha Stewart at HD, Magnolia Grandiflora
Bed & bath ceilings: Martha Stewart at HD, Love In The Mist ****I realized when everything was installed that I should have used MArtha Stewart Salt Glaze. I’m telling myself that I’m the only one who notices. We’ll see how long that lasts. ;)****
Trim: Benjamin Moore Cloud White

Wall decal: Leen the Graphics Queen
Bed: PB
Duvet cover: PB
Shams (former Shower curtain): PB
Red Lamp: PB
Pink lamp: Shades of Light
trunk: hand me down from a friend
White bedside table: Bassett
wicker chair and red table: Pier One
bookcase: Ikea Billy Bookcase
marble bookends: vintage from High Street Market

Before and after:
Before
After

Hope everybody has a great rest of the week! Thanks so much for checking on Buddy.

8 responses to this post.

  1. oh my gosh Nichole!!!! YOU JUST MADE MY DAY!!! 🙂 Thank you for sharing and everything looks great!!!
    xoxo,
    lauren

    Reply

  2. Posted by Natalie Huppenthal on May 2, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    love what you have done to this room!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Donna on May 7, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Sorry to hear about Buddy but I love your new guest room!! Great job!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jen on May 7, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    The guest room looks great! Nice work.

    Reply

  5. Love the color! It looks very cozy. Your guests won’t wan to leave. (Sorry about you baby buddy. Hope he is on the mend soon.)

    Reply

  6. Hi sweetie,

    I don’t hear from you for so long! Is everything okay???

    I just dropped by to see how you’re doing and to wish you a happy 4th of July!

    Missing you.

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

    • Luciane, Thanks so much for checking on me. How are you? I’m doing well. We’ve had a busy summer so far and a tough one because of ill relatives. Hope you are having beautiful weather. It’s a disgusting 100 here. 🙂

      Nichole

      PS hope to get back to my blog real soon. I’ve been checking in on yours.

      Sent from my iPad

      Reply

  7. I’ve read some of your posts and I really admire you for being so diligent with your home renovations. I hope your dog will be okay.

    Love the bedroom wall paint btw…

    Reply

Leave a comment