Before And After: The Green Guest Room

Before


This is how my downstairs guest room looked for quite sometime after we moved in. I wish I had thought to take pictures before I sicced the painters on it. The walls were cream and the ceiling was dark red. I’m sure you have noticed all of the room above the headboard. I love our ten foot ceilings, but they can create some design problems. Enter the blogosphere and a little site called Etsy. This is also the room attached to the bathroom featured in this post over at Paula Grace. Sorry, not done with the bathroom.

Here is my affordable solution for too much wall space:

Green Guest Room After

After

You can find this decal and many, many more at Leen the Graphics Queen’s Etsy shop. I thought the decal was pretty simple to install, considering how large it is. I do recall the husband extracting a promise from me to never buy another. 🙂 Men do not get the concept of sacrifice for design.

I’m not entirely done with this room. I want to replace the light fixture and am also contemplating painting the ceiling the color Paula chose for the bathroom. The light fixture I want is not a ceiling fan. There is a ceiling fan in there now. Will I be depriving my guests of comfort for the sake of a pretty light? Is this a bad idea?

Here is a picture of the other side of the room:

Green Room - Bay Window

The bay window also needs new window treatments. Paula Grace recommended woven woods (for the bathroom window as well). I had also thought of that, but discarded it for fear of too many wood tones in the room. I already have three different wood tones in the room and two of them are already woven in texture. What do you think? Would one more wood tone, and a woven one at that, throw off the whole room? I guess I could try to match the blinds to one of the tones already in the room. The headboard since it’s the most dominate?
Here is a view into the hallway and of the free birdie Leen sent with my order:

Free Birdie

What do you think? Would you put a giant dandelion decal on a wall in your house? Would you get an immediate headache if shown to a guest room with this bright green on the walls? Or are you like me, and this color makes you happy and energized?

***click on each picture to enlarge***

8 responses to this post.

  1. How fun! I love the color–I used one similar in a bathroom we had at our former house and it made the room feel “happy.” I remember that bathroom post at Paula Grace’s site–didn’t realize it was yours.

    I’m debating the same thing about the ceiling fan in our bedroom. I love having the fan, but it’s not very pretty. I’d rather have a chandelier, but my husband isn’t going for it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kristin on April 7, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    It might save you on a/c bills if you keep the fan 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ooo, love your dandelion mural! What a fun, fresh room. I would totally love to stay there. 🙂

    And you DID figure out how to add the Austen quiz to your side bar. Good for you!

    Reply

    • Thanks! I must admit I had a tiny bit of help from the husband on the button. I had the whole thing, except one piece. What would I do without him? 🙂

      Reply

  4. I like the green and love the dandelion. The decal breaks up the wall a bit. Our place has very high ceilings too but the space is broken by a parcel shelf. I have beige below it, white shelf and off white above it and that seems to work alright. Why not extend the nature, whimsy theme to the curtains. Something like a silhouette of grass, leaves,trees or birds may work in a red/white or natural/white colour scheme.

    Reply

  5. Bring on the color! I think we all need to inject some more color in our lives. I love the dandlion, great touch.

    http://www.littlebluechairs.com/

    Reply

Leave a comment