The Transformation Of My Breakfast Room

There is one room in our house that I really like. It’s also the one room in the house that I consider “done”. And interestingly, it also seems to stay the cleanest. Hmmm. I wonder if the husband will buy into massive amounts of projects and money spending to get a consistently clean house? Something tells me that could be at once, the best and worst idea I’ve ever had. On the one hand, house how you want it. On the other hand, husband with ammunition provided by moi. I think this idea requires some more tinkering…

Back to the Breakfast Room. Here it is in its nearly original incarnation. It’s set for Thanksgiving dinner of 2008. No rug, window treatments that came with the house, and needing a little more furniture.

One month later, decorated for Christmas 2008. The rug we used in the family room at our old house, same yucky window treatments, and this time you can see the dresser we use as a buffet and the shelving I bought for above.

Here it is in February of 2009 with a new rug and a buffet with open shelves. (Valentines flowers from the husband!)

The blue buffet set up for a party. The savory food went on the dining table and the desserts went on the dresser buffet behind me, but I forgot to get a picture. 🙂

A picture of the yucky window treatments shortly before the swag bit the dust. I had fun destroying that thing! Mr. Darcy looks like he didn’t like it either.

The window with new blinds. A couple of years ago, I would have considered it done. I’m glad I’ve evolved and you will be too when you see the last picture.

Done!!!

If you feel as if you have seen a couple of these pictures before, you may have. Before and after pictures of the window were included in a post about window treatments by Sherry over at YHL sometime last summer.

There are a couple of blogs that host parties on Mondays. So, I’m linking up to: Metamorphosis Monday over at Between Naps On The Porch. And Mosaic Monday at Little Red House. Please check out the links at these blogs to see some great transformations!

***Special Note: You can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on them.***

19 responses to this post.

  1. It’s lovely! My favorite picture is the one where we can see you in the mirror. Adorable! Lisa~

    Reply

  2. Posted by natashainoz on April 11, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Wow, I loved looking at these before and after pictures. It just goes to show that good things DO come to those who wait. This room is absolutely stunning! Well done!

    I can’t wait to see what else you have done next time I visit.

    Best wishes,
    Natasha.

    Reply

  3. WOW…what a beautiful makeover…luv that awesome buffet! Hope you have a FUN week:)

    Blessings,
    Linda

    I’m having a GIVEAWAY…come by and check it out…I think you will like it!

    Reply

  4. You did a great job – everything looks wonderful. I love the open wooden piece. Stopping by from BNOTP.

    Reply

  5. Great transformation! Love what you’ve done here.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Valerie on April 12, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I think you have done a lovely job. Good choices. Valerie

    Reply

  7. It’s always fun to keep things fresh – nicely done!

    Amanda

    Reply

  8. Posted by Auntie V on April 12, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Nice job Nic. I really like the window treatments. We’ve been in our house for 22 years and I have yet to put window treatments in the dining room. Queen of Procrastinators eh?

    Reply

  9. Great job. Well that turned out great! Where did you get your ideas from?

    Reply

  10. Your dining room came together quite nice!! It looks great!!

    Lindsay
    A Design Story

    Reply

  11. Your dining room came together quite nice! It really looks great!

    Lindsay
    A Design Story

    Reply

  12. Wow, your dining room looks terrific. I’m sure it was fun to pull this all together. Great job!

    Reply

  13. So fresh and lovely! Dining rooms are a good one to finish because they can stay looking good I agree!

    Reply

  14. Thank you for linking up to my Turquoise Tuesday Party. If you have anything else you would like to share, please stop by next Tuesday. The party goes on . . .

    Reply

  15. What a beautiful room! Love the turquoise buffet! It’s my new favorite color.

    Reply

Leave a comment