Chairs, Chairs, And More Chairs

Last Friday I mentioned my chair problem and a few of the readers said that they wanted to see the chairs. I became a little bit concerned about this because out of the five chairs I mentioned in my post, four look exactly alike. But then I started to think of all the chairs I have purchased in the last year, and suddenly I had a little more variety. I realize by posting these pictures, that any of you who had sympathy for me after reading this post, will now switch to the husband’s side. In an effort to retain as many people on my team as possible, I will be telling you of the bargains I got on each purchase. 🙂

One of my first purchases last spring were these wood folding chairs from World Market. I had a gift card (thanks, Katie!), so I was only $10.00 out of pocket.

Don’t folding chairs look classy in my formal dining room? 🙂 Also, please ignore the chandelier and the swagness on the windows. I haven’t really worked on this room yet.

Right next door is the formal living room, where these two Wisteria chairs are the only furniture in the room.

I had my eye on those chairs for about a year before I bought them. They were 30% off when I finally did. I didn’t have to pay shipping because Wisteria is located less than 10 minutes from my house! In case you were wondering, this does not make the husband happy. Here is a close up of one chair, in case you wanted a better look (throw from Anthropologie):

Around the same time as the folding chairs, I purchased two of these from Pier 1:

This is the one that resides in my blue guest room. I haven’t put any pictures of that room on here before. The matching chair is in the master bedroom, under a pile of clothes that need to be put away. Therefore, you will not be seeing that one. Can I just do a little plug for Pier 1? I don’t work for them and they aren’t paying me. People, don’t forget about Pier 1! Next time you need something for your home, be sure to check them out. They have great stuff and great prices! I can’t remember how much I paid for the chairs, but I do remember that they were 50% off.

You already saw this chair in a post a couple of weeks ago. It’s a leather recliner from JC Penney.

If you are looking for sturdy furniture and bargain prices, JC Penney has to be on your list. This recliner isn’t as nice as the Crate and Barrel one I lusted after, but it’s also less than half the price. And we like it.

These are the office chairs:

Now that I praised JC Penney above, I can give them a little dig here. The chair on the right was purchased from them less than a year ago. It has not held up well and is uncomfortable. This necessitated the purchase of the chair on the left three weeks ago. Much more comfortable. We’ll see about the longevity.

You also saw this new chair on this blog a couple of weeks ago:

It is from Pottery Barn and was on sale as a new introduction.

And now the final four chairs. I bought these at Pottery Barn two at a time over the last couple of weeks.

I have admired chairs like this for a couple of years, but didn’t have a dining table for the patio until recently. I went with these because they were the cheapest with this shape. I do like the color of the Crate and Barrel ones a bit better. These chairs are very comfortable and right now PB is waiving their shipping surcharge on a lot of furniture. If you want to be really impressed with my bargain shopping, check out the chairs like this in Frontgate sometime.

Have any favorites? Which one(s)? Anyone else with a chair problem? What’s really sad is that I clearly need more chairs. I would say at least eight for the dining room. I can just imagine the husband sitting in his office, reading this, and yelling, “Noooooooooooooo!”. My day is complete. 😉

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by melarse on May 12, 2010 at 10:13 am

    I love your dining room rug. May I ask where you purchased it?

    Reply

    • Thank you! I got it at Wisteria sometime in early 2009. I think I actually got it at the outlet and not from the catalog. I’m lucky enough to live near their facility, so I can shop the outlet. They have an amazing apple green and white stripe dhurrie in their current catalog. Sadly, I have no where to use it in my house. 😦 I think you might be able to find something similar from Jonathan Adler or Madeline Weinrib, but their prices can be a little scary unless there’s a BIG sale.

      Reply

  2. That’s a lot of chairs!! But if they’re all serving a purpose (holding up a pile of clothes counts!!), then why not?? 🙂

    I really like your patio chairs and the chairs from Wisteria. The Pier 1 chair is great too 🙂

    Kelly

    Reply

  3. I thoroughly enjoyed this post 🙂 Love the chairs you bought but we all need more furniture!

    Reply

  4. You’re going to get me addicted to chairs too! And those pillows – swoon.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Katie on May 14, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Love the chairs, especially the new patio chairs!!:)

    Reply

  6. I am loving all those chairs you found! It’s great that you’ve found so many corners to tuck these little guys in throughout your house. I would KILL to have those patio chairs especially! Love them all 🙂

    Reply

  7. […] dollars have you spent on chairs this year?”. It was hilarious! And also a good example of my blog biting me in the butt. His over-inflation of the cost of all my chairs, plus his counting purchases […]

    Reply

  8. Posted by Janie P on December 7, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    My favs are the patio chairs and the Pier 1 chairs. Question—if you aren’t in love with the color of the patio chairs, get spray paint in the color you want and just change them. It may even give them a little more protection from the elements. Not hard to do, and you’ll really like them better.

    Good shopping, though. You set a good example for us by getting such deals.

    Janie

    Reply

Leave a comment