Preparation

I know my preparation for Lent should focus on prayer. But mine appears to be on food. In anticipation for my 40 days of not eating out, I’ve been on a restaurant and take out extravaganza.

Friday – Mi Cocina: I tried a new dish which has shrimp in corn tortillas. It was good, but my favorite is still Mama’s Tacos.

Saturday – I Fratelli: Husband and I just had pizza and salad. But my dad, who was visiting in (disappointed)hopes of warmer weather, raved about his fettucine alfredo with grilled chicken.

Sunday – Chipotle: Chicken burritos for everyone! They always hit the spot.

I’m sure I will continue this extravaganza today and I have a brunch date with a friend for tomorrow, so Fat Tuesday is shaping up nicely. 🙂

I did manage to bake cookies yesterday. I made PW Oatmeal Crispies. I left out the pecans and added milk chocolate chips. They are so easy that even I couldn’t mess them up. I still don’t know what I think about having a cookie recipe which causes me to use Crisco. It creeps me out. I know PW loves butter, so there must be a good reason for her to use the Crisco instead of butter. I might keep hunting for a recipe with butter to try.

Happy President’s Day!

6 responses to this post.

  1. I wish you the best of luck! I will be writing about my Lenten sacrifice soon. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I use butter flavored crisco and butter in my cookie recipe mmmm….

    Reply

    • Is that mmmm good? Or mmmm, maybe Crisco is gross? Is it an oatmeal cookie recipe or your famous chocolate chip recipe?

      Reply

      • Posted by lou on February 20, 2010 at 2:29 pm

        I’m still new at this blogging thing. I just now realized you wrote me back. It is mmmm good. It is my regular choc chip recipe and I do have oatmeal in it as well.

      • You might need to give me that recipe again. Cookies appear to be the only thing I do well the first time I try a new recipe. I probably just jinxed myself by saying it out loud. Please do not punish me , oh cookie gods!

  3. Posted by Erika on February 17, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I have made many cookie recipes with crisco, butter flavored and regular. All yummy. Don’t fear the crisco.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

