Interesting Reading

So, I’ve been in a little bit of a funk lately. But at least I know that I’m in one. That’s pretty important because it helps me to realize that my reactions to things might not be “spot on” as the Brits would say. That has translated into a lot less blogging, because I’m not sure that I want to write what is in my head. Does that make sense? The other frustrating thing is that there is absolutely no reason for this funk. I have a very lovely life. Earlier this week I read this post over at Dooce, and a little light bulb went off. Please don’t be concerned for me. I am lucky enough not to be quite as severely affected as Heather is. But it’s awesome that she writes about it so honestly. And it connected the dots for me about how I’ve been feeling with how much I hate the fact that it gets darker earlier. I REALLY REALLY hate it. After thinking about this for a few days, I started wondering where the sunniest places to live are. Here is a list compiled by FindYourSpot.com. I was extremely surprised to see Topeka on the list as well as a few others. I found a different site that says Dallas only has 135 sunny days per year. That is less than I thought, but only 1 day less than Grand Junction, CO which made the list. So I think the list might be a little incomplete and subjective.

On to more amusing topics…

My friend Erika told me about the honey badger videos on You Tube a few weeks ago. Since that time, the honey badger has been busy and is now shilling for pistachios. They really have a pretty funny ad campaign going. While I think many of them are funny, I really like the commercial featuring The Winklevi. I’m guessing that they might not like being called The Winklevi, but it’s such an awesome name that I can’t be blamed for loving it. Go here to watch the commercials I mentioned. If you are completely unfamiliar with the honey badger’s previous work, just search You Tube.

I was listening to NPR the other morning and they were talking about how Putin is campaigning to be president of Russia…AGAIN. That’s right, he of the former KGB and he of the eyes that so famously lied to GW, wants to be officially in charge again. To that end, he has taken to traveling with his own photographer to document his manly and heroic life. the Atlantic has a great piece on it. This guy is unbelievable. And the fact that we as Americans cannot understand the Russian public’s willingness to buy his BS and put him in office again (although some would argue he never left), is more proof that we are incapable of understanding other cultures, and therefore incapable of the nation building that we have undertaken. Okay, back to amusing: Did you see all the bare chested photos?

4 responses to this post.

  1. I just looked up how many sunny days my city has a year. 93. I love my sunshine and that doesn’t seem like enough to me! My friend has serious S.A.D. (and she lives in my neighborhood, so maybe we really don’t get enough sunshine where I love) and she talked about her “happy light” for months before I realized that she wasn’t talking about the effect the light had on her, no, that was the actual brand name!

    I hate that it gets dark earlier. Daylight Savings time in the fall is truly painful. I love that they pushed it back a few weeks, but still….

    I won’t be concerned for you, as you asked, but I still hope you have plenty of sunshine this month and that you get your groove back soon.

    Reply

  2. I must look up this honey badger stuff. Saturday while watching the LSU game all the media peeps kept referring to one of our great players as “the honey badger”.

    Reply

  3. Okay, everyone needs to start using The Winklevi!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

