General Anesthesia, Endometriosis and Happiness

What’s up buttercups? I’ve been laying low this week because I had laparoscopy last Friday. Everything went really well, and I was lucky enough to not really have much pain. Today is the first day that I can say for sure that the nagging shoulder pain and ribcage pain is gone. If you’ve never had such a surgery or known someone who has: they blow extra air into your body. It hangs around for a while after the surgery and causes irritation.

So anyway, I’m pretty happy because my recovery has gone really well. And they only found mild endometriosis. I assumed because of my hideous period pain every month and my barreness, that it would be much worse. So even though it might not explain the barreness, I’m happy to have it behind me and to not have to worry about it like I might if it had been a lot worse. Because that stuff will come back. Ugg!

I really dislike general anesthesia. Don’t get me wrong. I understand that I’m lucky to be alive at a time in history when it exists. But I hate how I feel coming out of it. And I get really freaked out before surgery that I’m not going to wake up!

What I am most happy about is a little ick to write about. So guys, you might want to stop reading here. 🙂 The monthly pain seems to be at an end!!! People, if this is what normal women’s periods feel like, then all normal women need to get on their knees right now and thank God, their ancestors, and their uterus for this gift. I AM NOT KIDDING!!! If you have never had periods where you were so debilitated that you could not function, please understand that you have fellow human beings who suffer. They suffer very much. Be kind. Be sympathetic. It’s so much more awful than you can know if you haven’t been through it month after month, year after year.

So that’s pretty much all I wanted to say. I’m here, I’m feeling great, and halleluja for normal periods!

PS The husband was awesome about the surgery and taking care of me. Thanks, honey! Mr. Bingley (the turd!) wanted nothing to do with me for almost the entire day. Weakness and sickness are not causes for Mr. Bingley’s sympathy. All humans beware!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gretchen on January 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Glad all is better. Had MRI on knee on Tuesday but heard nada yet. At least it wasn’t on my head. I think MRIs probably go better when subject all unconscious. I had to put Cleo down a month or two ago and Kitty went byebye in LA. Have Peanut but got him in LA so you all never met him. Cleo was better at sympathy. Peanut wants attention a lot but not good with sympathy. Or if was, has moved on.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Texas Mommy on January 26, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Great to hear that the surgery was so successful and you are feeling better!

    Reply

  3. Glad you’re feeling better!

    Reply

  4. Wooh!! So glad you’re doing so well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

