Fat Tuesday Volume III

So, I am entering week three of better habits and please leave, fat! Here is my progress report: three pounds down, a hell of a lot more to go. 🙂

Question of the week: Have you ever kept juggling all of your balls (be quiet dirty birds!) without dropping any? And if so, for how long? When I talk of the juggling act I am referring to three main areas for me and probably more for other people. My three are 1) weight,exercise, & food under control 2) finances in order and 3) house in order. For many of you the juggling act will also include a job and parenting. It boggles the mind!

The juggling act seems like a catch 22 to me. I can’t remember the last time I had all three areas under control. Yet, it does seem to me that if one and especially if two of my three areas get out of control, they will pull the third one with them. The last time all three were going well at the same time might have been around 2005. And that is probably not completely correct. Just because I was thinner then than I am now doesn’t mean #1 was totally great. But that was the year that I was introduced to Dave Ramsey. That saved our lives, financially speaking. And I had a much smaller house back then, so it was easier to keep in order.

Does this happen to everyone else? Have you ever mastered the juggling act? If so, do you have any tips? My only tip that I can give for sure, is Dave Ramsey. Whenever we have followed his financial advice, things have gone well for us in that area. I still struggle a little with the financial stuff (like falling off the envelopes wagon once in a while), but most of my struggles are with #1 & #2. How about you?

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie Phillips on January 18, 2011 at 7:07 am

    It sounds like I need to check out Dave Ramsey because NONE of those balls are in the air over here! I’m in the worst shape of my life (thanks kiddos), our finances are a wreck (between student loans, mortgage, car payments, and medical debt…), and we are at a complete stop in the home reno process until #2 starts getting better.

    I’m doing okay at the fourth ball, as a parent. The rest has gone to pot.

    Sigh. Let me know when you figure it out!

    Reply

  2. Posted by andrea on January 18, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Its so weird you blogged this today..last night I was up trying to get my head organized with all three of the things you mentioned. It is weird, though, how when you exercise and eat right your head feels a little clearer. Maybe because you aren’t putting the “health thing” on the back burner. But staying focused is hard for everyone though…and being women, “multi-tasking” is in our nature…but, juggling all of it can wear you out! Looking forward to seeing you soon!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Liz on January 18, 2011 at 8:10 am

    The last time I had all three of those things going for me was April of 2006. Then I met my husband and everything fell apart because I was no longer keeping myself first. The financial stuff is great as we followed Dave Ramsey’s plan and are debt free. However, it is always a struggle to stay on budget every month. I’m working on the weight thing and as far as my house. I’ve given up. Between my hubby and the 3 dogs, they’ve taken over!

    Reply

    • Liz, isn’t it funny how when we are happy, we sometimes let a few things go? It’s so strange to me, but that’s exactly what I did in the beginning. Of course the results of that made me a lot less happy. Very confusing!

      Reply

  4. Congrats on the 3 lbs. That’s fantastic!!! I think I’ve lost 1-2 which I’m happy about. At least it’s something! I never have it all together & I’m beginning to think I never will. Finances are good thanks to good jobs & an accountant hubby. Weight/exercise/ eating better – EPIC FAIL but I’m trying & that’s all you can do right? I don’t have kids so I don’t have that aspect to get under control but the full time job doesn’t help with the house aspect! UGH!!! One day maybe???

    Reply

    • Traci, congrats on the 1-2! And the money thing is no small accomplishment. Especially in this environment. Maybe this “having it all together” is a myth. But even if it is, I bet we all still keep striving for it. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Posted by Marcia on January 18, 2011 at 10:03 am

    My “juggling” is more balanced with daily prayer and daily exercise.
    Soul needs food and the mind needs endorphins for the best me to surface.

    Reply

  6. Oddly, there are times when I do better when I have a decent amount of balls to juggle. (*snort!*)

    If I don’t have enough going on, I abandon my schedules and get distracted by silliness.

    That being said, there IS such a thing as critical mass where even the beginning of the “Mom, can you…?” sentence is enough to make me cry.

    THIS week, for instance…

    Reply

  7. Wow, Nichole! Loosing 3 lbs is fantastic!

    I’m the last person that should be posting here… I’m in such to “balance” my life lately. I’ve been working a lot on my blog, taking care of my kids, husband and my house is a mess lately! Ok.. I need to breathe! 🙂

    Your mom has a great point!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  8. Congratulations on 3 lbs! That is great! As far as balancing, we seriously need to work on the finances. Keeps getting pushed to the wayside, but was one of our New Year’s resolutions.

    Reply

Leave a comment