Istanbul Or Constantinople?

I’m talking about ottomans, of course. 😉 I finally got two ottomans that I think will work under the white lacquer console table. Here is a before:

before the ottoman invasion

I got these ottomans knowing that they would look okay, but that I would probably want to have covers made for them. The husband says he thinks I should leave them as is. But his opinion is always suspect, because he’s always worried that whatever scheme I have in mind is going to cost too much money. So I want to know what you think.

Istanbul:

Or Constantinople:

Since I already bought the fabric, I obviously think the latter. But I want your honest opinion, so feel free to disagree with me. Hope everyone has a great week and hope that song isn’t stuck in your head for too long.

11 responses to this post.

  1. I like the fabric that you bought better than what’s on them now.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Liz on October 3, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Definitely the first. I don’t care for the fabric.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lou on October 3, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    I like the original look, but think the new fabric looks better in the room.

    Reply

  4. Honestly, I love the 1st option. I think it brings some energy to the room. Once the fabric brings some calmness because of the blue hues, which also works well w/ the paint on the wall. Both are great, it only depends what you want for the room. More color or calmness?

    Have a great day!

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

  5. Posted by Amy B. on October 4, 2011 at 10:44 am

    I have to agree with the husband, and not because he’s my boss, honest! I like the contrast, both of the color and the pattern – everything else is sort of flowery and round, so the checked pattern is nice. I think the Constantinople is too muted and sort of blends in to the wall. I agree with Luciane – I like the energy of the green Istanbul.

    Reply

  6. Istanbul. Definitely! And now I have that They Might Be Giants song stuck in my head!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jen on October 4, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    I have to agree with Istanbul.

    Reply

  8. Man, I’m getting slaughtered here! The husband is going to get a big head. 😉

    Reply

  9. Oh I love these ottomans! At first I was thinking keep them as they are, but I kind of feel like the second fabric may end up looking better color wise. Tough call!

    Reply

  10. I like the first option!

    Reply

  11. I have to agree with the husband, and not because he’s my boss, honest! I like the contrast, both of the color and the pattern – everything else is sort of flowery and round, so the checked pattern is nice. I think the Constantinople is too muted and sort of blends in to the wall. I agree with Luciane – I like the energy of the green Istanbul.
    +1

    Reply

Leave a comment