Heads You Lose – A Book Review

Let’s get this out of the way right from the beginning. I am in no way qualified to review books. But in the grand tradition of the internet age and blogging, I am going to do so. 😉 This novel is written by Lisa Lutz of Spellman Files fame, and David Hayward. This is Hayward’s first novel.

Heads You Losewas written in an interesting manner. The authors were never in the same location and they each wrote every other chapter. As they sent the chapters back and forth, they included notes to each other. Those notes have been included in the published work.

I gathered from reading the correspondence that David and Lisa attempted a novel together in more traditional fashion, back in ancient times, when they were dating. An abandoned work called The Fop, which they use as ammunition on each other quite frequently. I think we can all be grateful that 1) they never married way back then, and 2) the only love/hate child these two have produced thus far is this novel – a good thing. But a tortured 13 year old, who would undoubtedly be the main source of funding for some therapist’s BMW – not a good thing.

As for the story itself, I enjoyed it. I don’t think I would have as much, without the included correspondence. It’s interesting and quirky, and I had no idea who the killer was. I wouldn’t say that I liked it as much as her Spellman books, but I would still recommend it and I’m not mad that I paid full price. So if you are looking for a fun summer read, pick it up. And if you haven’t read the Spellman Files and all of it’s siblings, get on it!

PS I feel like a traitor to my beloved books- I bought a Kindle.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amy B. on June 8, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Yeahhhh Kindle!! You’re gonna love it! Haven’t read Spellman Files so going to look into that ASAP. Just finished The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Rebecca Skloot). Loved it – SUPER interesting, non-fiction (which I don’t tend to read very often). Now, back to those curtain fabrics . . . 😉

    Reply

    • I would love to get back to the curtains! But all four windows that they go on must be replaced. So I think the curtains are going to have to wait a few months. 😦

      I’ve heard about your book somewhere… I’ll have to check it out.

      Reply

  2. This is so cool, Nichole! I need to find a good book for summer. It seems that I just read stuff about interior design and kids and now, pregnancy. I need something that makes my imagination go far… take a break! 🙂

    I hope you have a wonderful day.

    xo

    Luciane at HomeBunch.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

