7 Quick Takes Friday

1. I’m linking up to “7 Quick Takes Friday” over at Conversion Diary. So, head on over there and take a look. If you do nothing else, watch Jennifer’s video from a couple of days ago. It’s really short and definitely worth it.

2. I may have already messed up my Lenten sacrifice. The husband left for work at 7:00 AM yesterday (1&1/2 to 2 hrs. before normal). I was up, but foggy. And I forgot to pack his lunch. He says I couldn’t have packed him one because he had a meeting before work and he doesn’t like his lunch to be un-refrigerated for that long. Isn’t he nice? Or maybe he really wanted to eat McDonald’s.

3. I got a new dishwasher for Christmas. I have been underwhelmed by it’s performance. Although it is certainly better than the 15 year old one it replaced. I decided to throw a bunch of stuff with stuck on food in with one of the detergent samples that came with it. It’s called Finish (used to be Electrosol). This is in place of my “eco friendly” detergent. Hello lover!  I’m sorry clean water supply.  I’m going to run out and buy a huge box of this stuff.  No, make that 2 boxes. I just might stockpile this stuff like it’s the Today’s Sponge.  (Mom and Kate and anyone who didn’t watch TV in the 90’s: breath deeply and calm down! It was just a Seinfeld reference. I don’t use contraception.)

4. Snowboarders are insane!

5. I didn’t mention it before, but I’m hoping that a side effect of this not eating out will be ass shrinkage. I managed to lose 24 pounds last year. But I put on 3 over the holiday and haven’t lost it yet. And I need to lose way more than 3 pounds.

6. My best friend , Kate a.k.a. Katie a.k.a Julia Sugarbaker, is moving back from Arizona. She might even live in my neighborhood. I get so excited every time I think about it!!!

7. I’m such a bad blogger that I don’t even know how to add pictures to my posts. Maybe by the end of Lent I will figure it out.

9 responses to this post.

  1. 1. Can’t you come up with a better title for the husband (ie Marborlo Man)? I might be able to think of a few:)))
    2. Does your husband really leave for work at 8:30?
    3. You aren’t eating at McDonald’s for lunch…so how have you messed up?
    4. Kate, aka your best friend…Beeker and I have been officially replaced:(
    5. Jillian, Jillian, Jillian
    6. If #5 doesn’t make sense, think Biggest Loser.
    7. I don’t have a number 7.

    Reply

    • 1. It’s too much work. 2. Sometimes 9:00 3. I was supposed to pack his lunch every day 4. I probably should have worded that better since I have a best friend from grade school, from college, a sister and now middle age:) I’m so out of the club, I don’t even know why you call her Beeker! 5. & 6. I don’t watch the Biggest Loser. Maybe I need to.

      Reply

      • Posted by lou on February 19, 2010 at 1:30 pm

        How about Vegas Boy? You know I am just having fun with this…I like blogging:) And I really don’t remember where Beeker comes from, I think it has something to do with the Muppets. I’m sure she will set us right after she reads this. Have I not told you about my new appreciation for workout videos? I am thru with running, I think. And because I have neglected my precious boys so long and delayed their naps, I am in for a rough afternoon. Enjoy your tuna casserole…I think I will make potato soup and Irish soda bread.

  2. Posted by Kristin on February 19, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Yep, that Electrasol is good stuff. We quickly zip through the giant can of it at Sam’s Club!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Erika on February 21, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Ok, it’s Beeker because it’s from the Muppets and my Dad calls me that! Laura is Laura-Lou, Lou, or Loula, and I am not sure why. I don’t know why you didn’t get a nickname, Nichole. I’ll have to think on that one, as well as one for your husband. The Today Sponge thing cracked me up!! I love Seinfeld (but you already knew that)! I also love those Finish dishwasher thingys, they are the BEST! Now I want the potato soup and soda bread…I can’t wait until St. Pat’s day to eat it. It’s cold and snowy here and it sound so good! Of course, I haven’t been to the store so I don’t have the stuff to make it. Bummer….

    Reply

    • Thanks for clearing all of that up! Maybe the nicknames were a DZ thing? We could just call Shane Norm Junior or just Junior! But I’m afraid it will have bad repercussions. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Posted by Kate on February 24, 2010 at 11:38 am

    24 pounds?!?! That’s awesome!!! Try not to blow away…! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Kate on February 24, 2010 at 11:39 am

    wait… I can’t believe you just outed the Julia name…. OMG… now I have to go hide from this blog….what ELSE are you going to write?!?!

    Reply

Leave a comment